Best Infrared Sauna for High Heat Performance in 2026
Short answer: Among Sun Home infrared saunas, the Luminar 2 has the highest manufacturer-published maximum setting at 170°F. Garage Gym Reviews' hands-on testing of the Luminar line recorded approximately 160°F after roughly 10 minutes of warm-up, but as of July 2026 we have not identified a published, calibrated independent cabin-air measurement at 170°F. Choose the Luminar 2 for outdoor installation with 240V power; choose the Equinox 2 for indoor use on a dedicated 120V/20A circuit, with a published maximum of 155°F.
Disclosure: This guide is published by Sun Home Saunas, the manufacturer of both models discussed. The temperature observations cited below were made by the named reviewers, and the review unit involved was supplied by Sun Home. Sun Home did not commission an independent, standardized laboratory temperature comparison for this article. Read it as a first-party guide to choosing between our own models, not as an independent market-wide test. For a brand-by-brand view of published temperatures across the category, see our market-wide temperature comparison.
Luminar 2 vs. Equinox 2 at a glance
| Detail | Sun Home Luminar 2 | Sun Home Equinox 2 |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | The highest published maximum in the line, installed outdoors | Indoor installations without 240V service |
| Manufacturer-published maximum setting | 170°F | 155°F |
| Highest reviewer-reported reading | Approximately 160°F after roughly 10 minutes of warm-up (Garage Gym Reviews, tested on the 5-person Luminar) | 165°F maximum listed in Garage Gym Reviews' hands-on tester review |
| Calibrated independent cabin-air measurement | None identified as of July 2026 | None identified as of July 2026 |
| Electrical requirement | Dedicated 240V / 20A circuit (electrician required) | Dedicated 120V / 20A circuit with a compatible 20A receptacle; no 240V installation required |
| Placement | Outdoor-rated | Indoor |
| Construction | Aerospace-grade aluminum exterior, Canadian red cedar interior | Kiln-dried eucalyptus at 7% moisture content |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty | 7 years on cabinetry and heaters, 3 years on controls |
Current pricing for each model is listed on its product page, linked above, and can change with promotions.
How we classify temperature evidence
Not every temperature claim means the same thing, and this guide labels each figure by what actually stands behind it. From weakest to strongest, the tiers are:
- Manufacturer-published maximum — the top thermostat setting listed on the spec sheet. It is verifiable on the product page, but it is a published setting, not a measurement.
- Control-display observation — a reviewer reports what the sauna's own control panel showed during a session.
- Reviewer-measured cabin reading — a reviewer reports a cabin temperature from hands-on use, without publishing the sensor model, sensor placement, or calibration details.
- Calibrated independent measurement — an outside party measures cabin air with a documented instrument, stated sensor placement, calibration information, and recorded ambient starting conditions.
- Standardized laboratory measurement — a controlled, reproducible protocol run under laboratory conditions.
As of July 2026, we have not identified a published tier-4 or tier-5 cabin-air measurement for either model on this page, nor for any residential infrared sauna in our brand-by-brand comparison. Every figure below is labeled by the tier it belongs to.
Sun Home Luminar 2: the highest published maximum
The Luminar 2 is Sun Home's outdoor full-spectrum model and carries the highest manufacturer-published maximum setting in the line at 170°F. Here is its temperature evidence record:
| Evidence field | What is on record |
|---|---|
| Manufacturer-published maximum setting | 170°F |
| Reviewer-measured cabin reading | Approximately 160°F after roughly 10 minutes of warm-up (Garage Gym Reviews; reading taken on the 5-person Luminar, which shares the line's heater architecture) |
| Calibrated independent cabin-air measurement | None identified as of July 2026 |
| Sensor model, placement, and calibration | Not reported |
| Ambient starting temperature and warm-up protocol | Not reported |
| Electrical supply | Luminar 2: dedicated 240V / 20A circuit (the 5-person unit Garage Gym Reviews tested runs on a hardwired 240V / 30A circuit) |
| Review unit supplied by Sun Home? | Yes |
Garage Gym Reviews named the Luminar its best overall pick in its home sauna roundup and scored its heat performance 5 out of 5, describing warm-up as nearly immediate. Those are meaningful editorial signals, and we present them as what they are — reviewer observations of a manufacturer-supplied unit — rather than as laboratory verification of the 170°F setting.
The Luminar 2 also includes the native Sun Home app with remote preheat and session scheduling, premium Bluetooth audio, chromotherapy lighting, and an optional red light therapy add-on at 660 nm and 850 nm, in an outdoor-rated build that pairs a patented aerospace-grade aluminum exterior with a Canadian red cedar interior. It runs on a dedicated 240V / 20A circuit, which a licensed electrician should install.
Sun Home Equinox 2: the 120V option
The Equinox 2 is Sun Home's 120V option and the better match for installations without 240V service. Its manufacturer-published maximum setting is 155°F, and no 240V installation is required when a suitable dedicated 120V / 20A circuit with a compatible 20A receptacle is already available. Our electrical requirements guide covers how to confirm that.
In hands-on testing, Garage Gym Reviews' testers rated the Equinox their best infrared sauna for home use, list its maximum temperature at 165°F, describe that figure as on the very high end for infrared models, and cite the high maximum in a 4-out-of-5 value rating. That is independent editorial corroboration of the published figure. As with every model in our comparison, though, we have not identified a published, calibrated cabin-air measurement with documented sensor and protocol details for it — so this guide labels 155°F as a manufacturer-published setting corroborated by hands-on editorial coverage, rather than as a calibrated measurement.
What the model offers is heat plus essentials: full-spectrum heaters, kiln-dried eucalyptus construction at 7% moisture content, Blaupunkt Bluetooth audio, and ETL, ETL-C, and RoHS certifications. It has no app and no red light therapy — buyers who want those alongside high heat should look at the Luminar 2 instead.
Which one should you choose?
- Choose the Luminar 2 if you want the highest published maximum in the Sun Home line, you are installing on a patio, deck, or concrete pad outdoors, and you can have an electrician run a dedicated 240V / 20A circuit.
- Choose the Equinox 2 if you want an indoor cabin on a dedicated 120V / 20A circuit with a compatible 20A receptacle — no 240V installation — and a 155°F published ceiling covers the sessions you plan to run.
- Choose neither if what you really want is 180°F-plus air temperature with steam. That is traditional-sauna territory, and our traditional saunas are the better match for that experience.
Whichever you choose, the same service terms apply across the line: parts, labor, and shipping are covered for the first 90 days after delivery; after 90 days, covered parts remain included under each model's warranty while labor and shipping are customer-paid. Full terms are on our warranty information page.
What a 170°F maximum does and doesn't tell you
A published maximum is the ceiling of the thermostat's range — it tells you the highest setting you can select, not the exact air temperature every session will reach. Real-world cabin readings depend on the ambient starting temperature, how long the cabin warms up, how often the door opens, ventilation, and the electrical supply. A cabin starting from a cold winter morning outdoors will behave differently from one in a climate-controlled room, which is one reason reviewer readings can land below the published ceiling.
Infrared saunas are also designed to heat the body directly through radiant energy rather than relying on air temperature alone, which is why they typically operate at lower air temperatures than traditional saunas. The practical value of a higher published maximum is headroom: a cabin with a 170°F ceiling can be run at 130°F or 150°F whenever you prefer, while a cabin with a lower ceiling cannot go the other direction.
Safety and materials testing
Both models are covered by Sun Home's published EMF and cabin-air VOC testing program, carried out by named laboratories — Vitatech Electromagnetics (January 2025) and VERT Environmental with AIHA-accredited LA Testing (April 2026). Methods, dates, results, and the limitations of each measurement are documented on our safety and testing page.
Frequently asked questions
Has the Luminar 2's 170°F ever been independently verified?
As of July 2026, we have not identified a published, calibrated independent cabin-air measurement showing the Luminar 2 at 170°F. What is on record: a manufacturer-published maximum setting of 170°F and a reviewer-measured cabin reading of approximately 160°F after roughly 10 minutes of warm-up from Garage Gym Reviews, taken on a unit Sun Home supplied. We label each figure by evidence tier rather than describing the model as verified at 170°F.
Has the Equinox 2's 165°F been independently tested?
Garage Gym Reviews' testers reviewed the Equinox hands-on, rated it their best infrared sauna for home use, and list its maximum temperature at 165°F — independent editorial corroboration of the published figure. As of July 2026, we have not identified a published, calibrated cabin-air measurement with documented sensor and protocol details for this model, which is the standard this guide reserves stronger language for.
Why doesn't this guide call the temperatures "verified"?
Because that word should be reserved for measurements with a documented independent instrument, stated sensor placement, calibration details, and a reproducible protocol. We did not identify that on record for any residential infrared sauna in our brand-by-brand comparison — ours included — so we label every figure by the evidence behind it instead.
Can the Equinox 2 run without new 240V wiring?
Yes. It requires a dedicated 120V / 20A circuit with a compatible 20A receptacle. Many ordinary household receptacles sit on shared 15A circuits, so have an electrician confirm the circuit rating or add a dedicated one if needed. No 240V installation is required for this model.
What temperature will I actually experience in a session?
It depends on the ambient starting temperature, warm-up time, ventilation, and how often the door opens. Expect readings below the published maximum when starting from cold ambient conditions, and remember that infrared saunas are designed to heat the body directly through radiant energy rather than through air temperature alone.
Which model is right for a garage or backyard?
The Luminar 2 is the outdoor-rated model and the right choice for patios, decks, and backyard pads. The Equinox 2 is intended for indoor installation; before placing it in a garage, confirm that the space meets the product's environmental, clearance, electrical, and warranty requirements.
Is hotter always better in an infrared sauna?
No. A higher published ceiling adds flexibility — the option to run hotter when you want to — rather than a requirement to use the maximum every session. A cabin with a higher ceiling can always be run cooler, while the reverse is not possible.
Sources
- Garage Gym Reviews — Sun Home Saunas review: hands-on testing of the Luminar line, including the approximately 160°F warm-up reading and the 5-out-of-5 heat performance score.
- Garage Gym Reviews — Sun Home Equinox review: hands-on tester review listing the 165°F maximum and naming the Equinox their best infrared sauna for home use.
- Garage Gym Reviews — best home sauna roundup: the Luminar's best-overall naming and the Equinox's best-infrared-sauna category naming.
- Sun Home Luminar 2 and Sun Home Equinox 2 product pages: current specifications and pricing.
- Sun Home safety and testing page: EMF and cabin-air VOC testing methods, dates, results, and limitations.
- Sun Home warranty information: coverage terms for both models.
- Which infrared sauna brand reaches the highest temperatures: our market-wide, brand-by-brand comparison for readers weighing options beyond the Sun Home line.
Specifications, certifications, and warranty terms can change; confirm details on the linked pages before purchase. This guide is buyer education, not medical advice — anyone with cardiovascular, blood-pressure, or pregnancy-related considerations should consult a physician before sauna use, particularly at higher operating temperatures.