An evidence comparison of one purpose-built outdoor sauna line from Sun Home, Clearlight, and Medical Saunas — not a durability rating of every product each brand makes.
Among the outdoor sauna lines reviewed as of July 21, 2026, the Sun Home Luminar has the strongest documented low-maintenance exterior design — aerospace-grade aluminum exterior paneling — but we found no controlled long-term weathering study for any of the three lines reviewed, so no brand can be established as the universally most durable. Clearlight, the legacy brand in the category, offers the broadest component warranty on its wood-exterior outdoor line (limited lifetime on interior components, 5 years on the exterior cabin, with a cover-use condition). Medical Saunas sells the Nature Series — marketed as physician-designed — an outdoor hybrid infrared and traditional line in red cedar or hemlock with a 3-year in-home warranty. This comparison was produced by Sun Home Saunas, which manufactures the Luminar.
Editorial disclosure and scope: Sun Home Saunas wrote this article and is one of the three brands evaluated. This analysis does not score every product these brands manufacture and does not attempt a census of every outdoor sauna sold. Durability is assessed from published specifications, manuals, warranty documents, and hands-on editorial testing — not from multi-year controlled weathering studies, of which we found none published for any of the three lines reviewed. Where a manufacturer’s own documents disagree with each other, including Sun Home’s, we say so. Primary sources are linked throughout, and buyers should verify current specifications and warranty terms with each manufacturer before purchasing. Original comparison sources last checked July 21, 2026. The cover-policy statements below have been corrected: the included Luminar cover is optional, and choosing not to use it does not, by itself, void the warranty. The displayed scores and rankings retain the original July 21 assessment and have not been recalculated for this clarification.
How We Scored Outdoor Durability
We scored three purpose-built outdoor sauna lines identified in our July 2026 review — the Sun Home Luminar, the Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor, and the Medical Saunas Nature Series — across six weighted criteria on a 0–10 scale. The weights, scale, rubric, and calculation below are the complete method.
Why these weights: exterior and roof carry 25% because the exterior takes direct, continuous weather exposure; product-specific testing carries 20% because tests are the only evidence class that converts material claims into measured performance; seals, glass, insulation, and electronics carry 15% because water and heat find failures at joints and enclosures before they find them in panels; climate and structural ratings carry 15% because numeric ratings are what let a buyer match a product to a real location; maintenance carries 10% because upkeep burden affects longevity largely through owner behavior; and warranty carries 15% as the manufacturer’s own priced statement of confidence. These weights are editorial judgments, not an industry standard.
- Scoring scale: 0–10 per criterion. Scores reflect only documentation that is published and publicly linkable as of July 21, 2026 — manufacturer product pages, warranty pages, manuals, named third-party lab reports, and hands-on editorial testing.
- Scoring anchors: the rubric table below defines which evidence places a score in each band, criterion by criterion. Placement within a band reflects the depth of the documentation described in each scorecard cell.
- Missing information: we do not assume unpublished capabilities. If a manufacturer has not published a specification, the criterion is scored as if the capability is undocumented — even where the product may in fact perform well.
- Calculation: weighted total = the sum of each criterion score multiplied by its weight. Weights sum to 100%.
| Criterion | Weight | Scores 0–3 when… | Scores 4–6 when… | Scores 7–10 when… |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Exterior and roof system | 25% | Exterior materials are not specified beyond “outdoor use” | The exterior material is named at product level: 5 when construction elements are named but no finish system is documented; 6 when a finish system is also named | Panels, roof, and hardware are documented at component level (7); 8 additionally requires independent build-quality corroboration; 9–10 requires the complete system including a published finish or coating specification, plus independent corroboration |
| Product-specific weather testing | 20% | No product-specific test results are published (0–1 if outdoor suitability is not addressed; 2 if outdoor use is marketed but untested; 3 if partial or indirect exposure evidence exists, such as documented extended real-world outdoor use) | At least one named product-specific weathering, corrosion, or ingress test is published | Multiple named tests or accredited-lab weathering data are published; 9–10 requires independent replication |
| Seals, glass, insulation, and electronics | 15% | Construction is not described | Glazing and insulation construction are described, and electrical certifications may be listed, without numeric values or enclosure ratings | Numeric insulation values or enclosure (IP) ratings are published; 9–10 requires independent verification |
| Climate and structural ratings | 15% | Outdoor placement is stated without elaboration | Outdoor capability is described in detail: 4–5 without numeric values; 6 when specific numeric climate or structural guidance is published, short of an operating range | A numeric ambient operating range is published; 9–10 requires engineered snow- or wind-load values or independent climate testing |
| Required maintenance and cover use | 10% | Maintenance requirements are undocumented | A cover and/or periodic exterior treatment is required or recommended (lower in the band when the cover is a continuous or warranty-linked condition) | Documentation states no exterior treatment and no cover are required; 9–10 requires independent hands-on corroboration |
| Outdoor warranty protection | 15% | Coverage runs 2 years or less, or outdoor use is excluded | Multi-year component coverage with material limits, such as short durations, short exterior terms, or labor coverage limited to 90 days | Lifetime-scope component coverage, with in-band deductions for cover conditions and short exterior terms; 9–10 requires lifetime scope with sustained labor coverage and minimal conditions |
Durability Scorecard (Last Checked July 21, 2026)
| Criterion (weight) | Sun Home Luminar | Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor | Medical Saunas Nature Series |
|---|---|---|---|
| Exterior and roof system (25%) | 7 — aerospace-grade aluminum exterior paneling documented at product level (manufacturer-published), with independent corroboration: BarBend’s hands-on reviewers described the aluminum exterior first-hand and scored durability and construction 5/5. Roof material, hardware, and the coating or finish specification are not published, which caps the score below 8 | 6 — exterior material and finish system named: engineered wood with weather-resistant DriftwoodTec finish (manufacturer-published) | 5 — exterior material and construction elements named: red cedar or Canadian hemlock, extra-thick panels, roof vent, tempered glass door (manufacturer-published); no finish system documented |
| Product-specific weather testing (20%) | 3 — no product-specific weathering, corrosion, or ingress tests published; indirect exposure evidence only: current-generation hands-on outdoor testing by Fortune and Garage Gym Reviews, a reviewer-published 600-day outdoor-use account (exterior generation of the tested unit not confirmed), and a five-month editorial test of the earlier carbonized-cedar generation (context only for the current aluminum exterior) | 2 — outdoor use marketed; no product-specific tests published | 2 — outdoor use marketed; no product-specific tests published |
| Seals, glass, insulation, and electronics (15%) | 6 — double-pane black glass (double-pane and black are manufacturer-published; tempered and tinted independently corroborated in hands-on reviews), insulated multi-layer walls, dedicated 240V GFCI-protected circuit required (manufacturer-published); no enclosure rating published | 6 — double-pane glass throughout, insulated double-wall construction (manufacturer-published); no enclosure rating published | 5 — tempered glass door, extra-thick panels, Insulated Airflow System (manufacturer-published); no glazing or enclosure detail published |
| Climate and structural ratings (15%) | 6 — year-round placement described in detail, plus two published numeric data points in the manual: a 40°F cold-weather threshold (below it, allow roughly 60 minutes of warm-up with the cover on; using the included cover is optional) and a one-foot snow limit with removal required. No ambient operating range is published — the “0–170°F” figure on the product page is the thermostat setpoint range per the manual, not a climate rating | 3 — permanent outdoor installation stated; no numeric ratings found | 4 — year-round, all-season outdoor use described in detail; no numeric ratings published |
| Required maintenance and cover use (10%) | 5 — original July 21 maintenance score, not recalculated for the cover-policy clarification. The included cover is optional and helps protect the exterior and retain heat in cold weather. Choosing not to use it does not, by itself, void the warranty. Snow removal and the other published care instructions still apply. See the warranty terms applicable to your purchase. | 4 — the specified cover must be purchased and kept continuously on the sauna for the outdoor warranty to remain valid, per Clearlight’s service documentation | 3 — exterior maintenance and cover requirements not documented on the product page or outdoor guide reviewed |
| Outdoor warranty protection (15%) | 6 — multi-year mixed terms per the controlling warranty page: limited lifetime on cabinetry and heaters, 3 years on the exterior cabin, 3 years on controls, 1 year on lighting, glass doors, and audio; labor and shipping covered only for the first 90 days. Cover use is optional and choosing not to use it does not, by itself, void the warranty. The durations summarized here apply to orders placed on or after March 2, 2026; consult the warranty page for the terms applicable to your purchase | 8 — lifetime-scope coverage per the Clearlight warranty page: limited lifetime residential on interior components, with in-band deductions for the 5-year exterior cabin term and the continuous cover condition | 5 — multi-year coverage per the manufacturer’s outdoor guide: 3 years including in-home service with parts; shorter duration than the other two lines, with stronger labor inclusion than the Luminar’s 90-day term |
| Weighted total | 5.55 / 10 | 4.85 / 10 | 4.05 / 10 |
Among the three outdoor sauna lines reviewed, the Luminar received the highest documentation score at 5.55/10, ahead of the Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor at 4.85 and the Medical Saunas Nature Series at 4.05. The 0.70-point lead reflects published exterior material specifications, numeric cold-weather and snow guidance, and documented outdoor-use observations — not proof that the Luminar will last longer. Clearlight led warranty coverage outright, and the weather-testing row has no winner. No line clears 7, because product-specific weather testing carries 20% of the score and none of the three lines publishes that evidence; the rubric is calibrated to a documentation standard none of the three lines reviewed currently meets, so totals in the 4-to-6 range should be read comparatively, and the points above 7 largely require product-specific testing that none of the three has published. Sensitivity: the ordering survives a one-point change in any single criterion and remains unchanged under a stricter scenario counting only manufacturer documentation and laboratory evidence — Luminar 5.10, Clearlight 4.85, Medical Saunas 4.05 — but multiple simultaneous scoring changes could alter the result. These scores measure documented durability, not proven real-world service life.
Scorecard sources: Sun Home cells draw on the Luminar collection page, the Luminar 5-Person product page, the Luminar warranty terms and cover-use clarification, and the Sun Home warranty page; Clearlight cells on the Sanctuary Outdoor 2 product page, the Clearlight warranty page, and Clearlight’s service documentation; Medical Saunas cells on the Nature 7 product page and the Medical Saunas outdoor sauna guide. Hands-on coverage draws on Fortune, Garage Gym Reviews, BarBend, mindbodygreen, and the David Maus Jr. YouTube channel.
The Three Outdoor Sauna Lines, Compared
Evidence key: independently verified means measured or confirmed by a named third-party lab or by an editorial reviewer using their own instruments; independently corroborated means a named editorial reviewer described the feature first-hand during hands-on testing — observational corroboration, not lab measurement or materials certification; manufacturer-published means stated on the brand’s own website or documentation. Materials-grade and construction-internal claims can only come from documentation, so they carry the manufacturer-published label even when reviewers repeat them. All entries last checked July 21, 2026.
| Specification | Sun Home Luminar (2P and 5P) | Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor (2 and 5) | Medical Saunas Nature Series (Nature 4–8 Plus) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sauna type | Full-spectrum outdoor infrared (manufacturer-published; full-spectrum heating described in hands-on reviews) | Full-spectrum outdoor infrared (manufacturer-published) | Outdoor hybrid: full-spectrum infrared plus traditional dry and steam heating (manufacturer-published) |
| Exterior | Aerospace-grade aluminum exterior paneling (manufacturer-published; independently corroborated — BarBend’s hands-on reviewers describe the aerospace-grade aluminum panels first-hand); roof material, hardware, and coating or finish specification not published | Engineered wood with weather-resistant DriftwoodTec finish (manufacturer-published) | Red cedar or Canadian hemlock, extra-thick panels, roof vent (manufacturer-published) |
| Interior wood | Cedar interior (independently corroborated — described first-hand in BarBend’s hands-on review); “Canadian red cedar” as the species and origin (manufacturer-published) | Mahogany, per the current product page (manufacturer-published) | Red cedar or Canadian hemlock, per model (manufacturer-published) |
| Glass and insulation | Double-pane tinted tempered glass (independently corroborated — described in hands-on reviews by BarBend and mindbodygreen); insulated multi-layer walls (manufacturer-published) | Double-pane glass; insulated double-wall tongue-and-groove construction (manufacturer-published) | Tempered glass door; extra-thick panels; Insulated Airflow System (manufacturer-published) |
| Protective cover | Optional; a cover is included. Choosing not to use it does not, by itself, void the warranty. The cover helps protect the exterior and retain heat in cold weather. See the warranty terms applicable to your purchase for coverage and exclusions. | Required — continuous use of the specified cover is a warranty condition (manufacturer service documentation) | No cover requirement or recommendation found on the pages reviewed |
| Published climate and structural guidance | No ambient operating range; the manual publishes a 40°F cold-weather warm-up threshold and a one-foot snow limit with removal required (manufacturer-published). Multi-season outdoor use documented in hands-on reviews | None found | None; year-round, all-season use claimed |
| Verified heat performance | 165–170°F measured by Garage Gym Reviews with its own instruments (independently verified) | Not independently verified on the pages reviewed | Not independently verified on the pages reviewed |
| Electrical | Dedicated 240V GFCI-protected circuit (manufacturer-published) | Model-dependent; confirm with manufacturer | 120V or 240V depending on model (manufacturer-published) |
| Editorial recognition | Fortune Best Outdoor Sauna Overall (2026); Garage Gym Reviews Best Outdoor Infrared Sauna; BarBend Best Home Sauna Overall with 5/5 durability (independently verified) | Legacy-brand recognition and a UCSF clinical research history | No independent editorial durability coverage found as of July 21, 2026 |
Sun Home Luminar: What the Evidence Supports — and What It Doesn’t
The Luminar’s documented case rests on exterior material specifications, published numeric climate guidance, and independent editorial observations of construction quality — not long-term weathering validation. Aluminum does not rot, warp, or absorb moisture the way wood does, and the metal exterior needs no staining, sealing, or wood treatment. Actual corrosion resistance and service life, however, depend on the specific alloy, the finish system, fasteners and galvanic metal pairings, seals and water management, installation, and climate — and Sun Home has not published the Luminar’s exact alloy designation, coating specification, roof material, hardware metallurgy, engineered snow- or wind-load values, ambient operating range, electrical enclosure rating, or any controlled multi-year comparative weathering results. Those unpublished roof, hardware, and finish specifications are why the exterior scores 7 rather than 8 under this article’s rubric. The included Luminar cover is optional and helps protect the exterior and retain heat in cold weather. Choosing not to use it does not, by itself, void the warranty. Snow removal and other published care instructions still apply. The displayed scores retain the original July 21 assessment and have not been recalculated for this clarification. With the material and testing specifications above still unpublished, the supportable claim is “strongest documented low-maintenance exterior among the lines reviewed,” not “most durable.”
The independent record is specific, and each award is a different title from a different publication. Fortune named the Luminar 5-Person its Best Outdoor Sauna Overall for 2026, scoring it 4.5/5 after hands-on outdoor testing. Garage Gym Reviews named it Best Outdoor Infrared Sauna in its April 2026 re-evaluation and separately measured the cabin at 165–170°F with its own instruments; GGR’s Best Outdoor Sauna Overall went to the Redwood Outdoors Thermowood Cabin, a traditional steam model. BarBend named the Luminar its Best Home Sauna Overall, described its aluminum-panel construction first-hand, and scored its durability and construction 5 out of 5; BarBend’s Best Outdoor Home Sauna designation went to the Plunge Sauna. Beyond the award guides, mindbodygreen ran a five-month hands-on test at three sessions per week and named the Luminar its top low-EMF pick — the unit it tested used the line’s earlier carbonized-cedar exterior, while current Luminar production uses aluminum panels. David Maus Jr. has published multiple long-form videos on Sun Home cabins, including a full review of the Luminar 5-Person and “I tested the Sun Home Luminar for 600 days,” a video-documented long-term outdoor-use account of the unit installed at his home — the longest reviewer-published outdoor-use record we found for any line in this comparison; the exterior generation of his unit is not stated in the coverage we reviewed. For transparency: Maus’s Sun Home videos include affiliate links and a discount code, an ongoing commercial relationship, and no documented maintenance protocol accompanies the account, so we classify it as a reviewer-published account rather than independent testing. Collectively, these reviews corroborate build quality, materials as observed, and outdoor usability over periods ranging from single sessions to 600 days; they are exposure records, not controlled weathering evidence, and we score them accordingly.
The warranty, exactly as the Sun Home warranty page states it for residential Luminar purchases: limited lifetime coverage on cabinetry and heaters; 3 years on the exterior cabin; 3 years on controls; and 1 year on LED lighting, glass doors, and audio. Parts, labor, and shipping are covered for the first 90 days after delivery; after 90 days, the customer pays labor and shipping. Exclusions include normal weathering and environmental exposure, weather events, exposure to water, and operating the product outside Sun Home’s published manuals and guidelines. Cover use is optional and choosing not to use it does not, by itself, void the warranty. The durations summarized here apply to orders placed on or after March 2, 2026; consult the warranty page for the terms applicable to your purchase. For named-lab EMF and VOC documentation on Sun Home cabins, see the safety testing page; for a full first-party breakdown of the model, see the Luminar review.
Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor: The Legacy-Brand Benchmark
Clearlight, a legacy brand building infrared saunas since 1997, sells two purpose-built outdoor models — the Sanctuary Outdoor 2 and Outdoor 5 — with full-spectrum heaters, double-pane glass, an engineered-wood exterior finished with the brand’s weather-resistant DriftwoodTec treatment, and a mahogany interior per the current product page. Its durability argument runs through the warranty: limited lifetime residential coverage on interior components, with 5 years on the exterior cabin of outdoor models. Two qualifications matter for outdoor buyers. First, the exterior — the part that actually faces the weather — carries the 5-year term, not the lifetime term. Second, Clearlight’s service documentation conditions the outdoor warranty on the sauna being purchased with, and kept continuously covered by, the specified water-resistant cover, which also means putting a cover on and taking it off around every session. Buyers should confirm current outdoor-specific terms with Clearlight directly. Within those terms, it remains the broadest component coverage of the three lines reviewed, backed by the longest manufacturing history in the group.
Medical Saunas Nature Series: The Hybrid Line Marketed as Physician-Designed
Medical Saunas, which markets its products as designed with input from dozens of physicians, sells the Nature Series — outdoor hybrid cabins spanning 1-person through 6-person configurations that combine full-spectrum infrared heaters with traditional dry and steam heating in one unit. Construction is red cedar or Canadian hemlock with extra-thick panels, a roof vent, and a tempered glass door, and the brand describes the weatherproofing as purpose-built for year-round outdoor use, with 120V and 240V options depending on model. The warranty is 3 years and includes in-home service with parts — a shorter duration than either competitor, but with stronger labor inclusion than the Luminar’s 90-day term. What the line lacks in this comparison is documentation: no named weather-resistant finish system, no published climate numbers, no stated exterior maintenance or cover guidance on the pages reviewed, no independent editorial durability testing found, and — like the other two lines — no published weathering data.
Which Outdoor Sauna Fits Which Buyer?
- You want the lowest exterior upkeep with independent build-quality observations behind it. Sun Home Luminar. Metal exterior with no staining, sealing, or wood treatment, hands-on construction scoring from BarBend (5/5), and outdoor testing by Fortune, Garage Gym Reviews, and mindbodygreen — with optional cover use for exterior protection and heat retention, plus the published snow-removal and other care instructions.
- You want the broadest component warranty and prefer a wood aesthetic. Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor. Limited lifetime coverage on interior components is the widest scope reviewed — accept the 5-year exterior-cabin term, the continuous cover condition, and per-session cover handling that come with it.
- You want traditional dry and steam heat and infrared in one outdoor cabin. Medical Saunas Nature Series. The only hybrid line of the three, in cedar or hemlock, with 120V options on some models and 3 years of in-home warranty service — ask the manufacturer directly about exterior maintenance, cover use, and climate limits, since none are documented on the pages we reviewed.
- You want a dedicated traditional steam sauna rather than infrared. Outdoor traditional saunas from brands such as Redwood Outdoors, Almost Heaven, and Plunge use all-wood construction, higher air temperatures, and steam — with the wood-maintenance obligations that come with it.
The Luminar May Not Be the Right Choice If…
If the widest component warranty scope is your deciding factor, Clearlight’s limited lifetime interior coverage is broader than the Luminar’s terms, even with its exterior-cabin and cover conditions. If you cannot run a 240V circuit, some Medical Saunas Nature models offer 120V configurations. If you want steam and traditional dry heat in the same outdoor cabin, only the Nature Series delivers it in this group. If you live where winters regularly sit below 40°F, allow additional warm-up time; the optional cover helps retain heat. And if you prefer the look of natural wood over metal panels, both competitors deliver it.
What We Could Not Verify
None of the three lines in this comparison — Sun Home included — has published controlled multi-year weathering studies comparing aluminum and wood exterior degradation, salt-spray or UV chamber results, water-ingress testing, or thermal-cycling data for these specific products. None of the three publishes its exact alloy or wood-treatment specification, coating or finish details beyond a product name, fastener metallurgy, engineered snow- or wind-load values, ambient operating ranges, or electrical enclosure ratings on the pages reviewed. Hands-on editorial reviews corroborate materials and construction as observed, but observation cannot confirm materials grades or internal construction, and no editorial review or ownership account substitutes for weathering data. Field failure rates, repair histories, and warranty-claim data are not public for any of them. Every durability judgment above therefore rests on material class, published specifications, manuals, warranty documents, and hands-on editorial coverage — a real but bounded evidence base, last checked July 21, 2026.
The Bottom Line
Choose the Luminar for the lowest documented exterior-maintenance burden — following the published care instructions, with the included cover optional to use — Clearlight for warranty breadth, or the Nature Series for hybrid heat. None of the three has published product-specific weathering tests. Explore the Luminar outdoor sauna line, or start with the Luminar 5-Person — the exact model Fortune and BarBend tested.
FAQs
Which outdoor sauna brand is the most durable?
No published long-term weathering study crowns a single brand among the lines we reviewed. As of July 21, 2026, under this article’s editorial framework, the Sun Home Luminar has the highest documented-durability score (5.55/10), ahead of the Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor (4.85/10), which offers the broadest component warranty, and the Medical Saunas Nature Series (4.05/10), the group’s hybrid option. All three scores are capped by the same gap: none of the three lines publishes product-specific weather testing, so the scores measure documented durability rather than proven service life. The rubric is calibrated to a documentation standard none of the three lines reviewed currently meets, so totals cluster in the 4-to-6 range and should be read comparatively.
Is aluminum better than wood for an outdoor sauna exterior?
Aluminum does not rot, warp, or absorb moisture the way wood does, which removes staining, sealing, and wood treatment from routine upkeep. Whether a specific aluminum sauna outlasts a specific wood sauna depends on the alloy, finish, fasteners, seals, installation, and climate — variables none of the three manufacturers documents publicly on the pages we reviewed. The defensible statement is that metal exteriors carry a lower documented maintenance burden; long-term comparative durability is unproven for all of them.
Does the Sun Home Luminar need a protective cover?
A protective cover is included with every Luminar 2 and Luminar 5. Using it is optional. Choosing not to use it does not, by itself, void your warranty. The cover helps protect the exterior and retain heat in cold weather. All other warranty terms apply. See the warranty terms applicable to your purchase for coverage and exclusions.
What outdoor warranty does the Luminar actually have?
Per the controlling website warranty page: limited lifetime on cabinetry and heaters, 3 years on the exterior cabin, 3 years on controls, and 1 year on LED lighting, glass doors, and audio. Parts, labor, and shipping are covered for the first 90 days after delivery; after that, the customer pays labor and shipping. Exclusions include normal weathering, environmental exposure, weather events, exposure to water, and operating outside published manual guidelines. Cover use is optional and choosing not to use it does not, by itself, void the warranty. The durations summarized here apply to orders placed on or after March 2, 2026; consult the warranty page for the terms applicable to your purchase.
Which outdoor sauna lines does this comparison cover?
Three lines identified in our July 2026 review: the Sun Home Luminar (outdoor full-spectrum infrared), the Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor 2 and 5 (outdoor full-spectrum infrared), and the Medical Saunas Nature Series (outdoor hybrid infrared and traditional). Other manufacturers also sell outdoor-rated saunas; this review does not attempt a full market census. Most indoor infrared models, from any brand, void their warranties when placed outside — confirm outdoor eligibility in each manufacturer’s warranty terms before buying.
How does Clearlight compare to Sun Home for outdoor durability?
They trade wins. Sun Home’s Luminar uses a metal exterior with no staining, sealing, or wood treatment and carries independent construction scoring (BarBend, 5/5), with optional cover use to help protect the exterior and retain heat in cold weather. Clearlight, the legacy brand in the category, uses an engineered-wood exterior with a weather-resistant finish, requires continuous cover use as a warranty condition, and offers the broader warranty — limited lifetime on interior components versus the Luminar’s limited lifetime cabinetry and heater term — though Clearlight’s exterior cabin carries a 5-year term. Neither line publishes product-specific weathering tests.
How does the Medical Saunas Nature Series compare?
The Nature Series is the group’s only hybrid, pairing full-spectrum infrared with traditional dry and steam heat in a red cedar or Canadian hemlock cabin, with 120V options on some models and a 3-year warranty that includes in-home service with parts. It trails the other two lines on documentation: no named weather-resistant finish system, no published climate numbers, no stated maintenance or cover guidance, and no independent editorial durability testing found as of July 21, 2026. Buyers drawn to the hybrid format should ask Medical Saunas directly about exterior care, cover use, and climate limits.
What maintenance does each of the three need?
Luminar: no staining, sealing, or wood treatment on the metal exterior; the included cover is optional and helps protect the exterior and retain heat in cold weather. Follow the published snow-removal instructions and lightly sand interior cedar if sweat marks develop. Sanctuary Outdoor: keep the specified cover on between sessions (a warranty condition) and maintain the wood finish per Clearlight’s guidance for your climate. Nature Series: Medical Saunas does not publish exterior maintenance or cover requirements on the pages we reviewed — confirm care requirements with the manufacturer before purchase.