Full Comparison: Sun Home Equinox vs Nordik Recovery 2-Person
| Specification | Sun Home Equinox 2P (
$6,099 |
Nordik Recovery 2P ($2,799) |
|---|---|---|
| Price |
$6,099 |
$2,799 — $3,300 less |
| Infrared spectrum | Full-spectrum (halogen + carbon heaters) | Full-spectrum (NordikTherm DualWave — carbon panels + focused emitters) |
| Max temperature | 170°F (GGR independently verified 165–170°F) | 140–149°F (60–65°C per manufacturer — not independently verified) |
| Temperature gap | Sun Home reaches 20–30°F higher — a significant experience difference for deep sweating | |
| Wood species | Kiln-dried eucalyptus (dense hardwood) | Canadian hemlock (softwood) |
| Wood moisture content | 7% — published on product page | Not published |
| Wood drying method | Kiln-dried — published | Not disclosed (product page says "low VOC solid Hemlock" but does not mention kiln drying) |
| Heater lifespan | 30,000+ hours | Not published |
| Heater emissivity | Sample results only; no model-specific value established by this test | Not published |
| EMF testing | 0.5 mG — Vitatech Electromagnetics (named lab, fluxgate magnetometers, seated position, January 2025) | Under 1 mG at seated position, under 2 mG at 2" from heater — self-reported, no named lab cited |
| VOC testing | 27 µg/m³ TVOC — VERT Environmental (AIHA-accredited lab, EPA Method TO-15, April 2026) | Claims "low VOC solid Hemlock interior" — no VOC test data published, no lab named, no methodology cited |
| Electrical certifications | ETL/ETL-C/RoHS/Intertek | Not detailed on product page (check with manufacturer) |
| App control | Yes — Sun Home app: remote preheat, guided breathwork, session scheduling, temperature control | No — digital control panel on cabin wall only. No mobile app. No remote preheat. |
| Remote preheat | Yes — start from phone, sauna is at temp when you arrive | No — walk to sauna, press button, wait ~20 minutes |
| Guided breathwork | Yes — built into Sun Home app | No |
| Bluetooth speakers | Yes | Yes |
| Smart TV add-on | Yes — optional | No |
| Red light therapy | No on Equinox (see Eclipse
$9,999 |
No — Nordik Recovery explicitly excludes RLT from all models, stating "LED red-light systems do not perform well inside a heated, humid sauna environment" |
| Heated floors | Not listed as a standard feature | Yes — heated floor panels included |
| Air ionizer | Not included | Yes — OxyFlow™ air ionizer |
| LED lighting | Interior LED accent lighting | LED lighting with multiple color modes (chromotherapy) |
| Assembly | Magne-Seal™ magnetic panels — no tools, 30–60 min, fully reversible | Modular panels — screwdriver required, ~1 hour, plug-in connections |
| Dimensions (exterior) | ~48"W × ~42"D × ~77"H | 47.2"W × 41.3"D × 74.8"H (shorter — may limit taller users) |
| Electrical | 120V/20A | 120V (amperage not specified on product page) |
| Outdoor rated? | No (see Luminar
$10,999 |
No — explicitly indoor only. Outdoor use requires "fully protected environment" and is not warrantied. |
| Warm-up time | 10–20 min (app preheat means sauna is ready when you arrive) | ~20 min to max temp at 68°F room temp (no remote preheat — must be present to start) |
| Warranty | 7-year heater/cabinet, 3-year controls | 2-year comprehensive (structure + electronics). Parts shipped from Montreal. |
| In-home service | Available — technician visits | No — modular parts shipped for self-replacement |
| BBB accreditation | A+ accredited (4.87/5, 67 reviews) | We did not identify a BBB profile for Nordik Recovery as of April 2026 |
| Independent editorial testing | Fortune, Forbes, GGR, BarBend, SI, Rolling Stone, Family Handyman, Dezeen — 10+ publications | We did not identify major US publication hands-on sauna reviews as of April 2026. Customer reviews on nordikrecovery.com (4.8★). |
| Company background | Founded 2021, San Diego. Inc. 5000 No. 20 (2025). 50+ employees. Sauna-first company. | Canadian company. Primarily known for ice baths and cold plunges. Infrared saunas are a newer product line. Claims 50K+ customers (likely includes all products). |
What Nordik Recovery Does Well
Price. At $2,799, the Nordik Recovery 2-Person is less than half the cost of the Sun Home Equinox. For buyers on a tight budget who want full-spectrum infrared in a solid cabin — not a tent or portable unit — this is a competitive entry point.
Heated floors. Heated floor panels are a comfort feature that Sun Home does not list as standard on the Equinox. Cold feet in a warm sauna is a common complaint, and heated floors address it directly.
OxyFlow air ionizer. An air ionizer between sessions is a thoughtful feature for cabin freshness, especially in a hemlock interior where airflow and odor management matter.
EMF claim is competitive if verified. Nordik Recovery reports under 1 mG at the seated position — which, if independently confirmed, would be a strong EMF reading. However, the claim is self-reported with no named lab, no methodology, and no instrument type disclosed. Buyers who prioritize EMF should ask Nordik Recovery for the lab name and testing methodology before relying on this number.
Honest position on red light therapy. Nordik Recovery explicitly explains why they do not include RLT — stating that LEDs degrade in heated environments and that the distance inside a sauna cabin is too great for therapeutic effect. This transparency is credible. Sun Home addresses the same physics problem differently: the Eclipse uses dedicated full-height RLT towers positioned close to the body at 1,800W, designed to deliver therapeutic irradiance despite the sauna environment. Whether the engineering solves the physics problem is worth evaluating, but Nordik's honesty about the limitation is notable.
What the $3,300 Price Gap Actually Buys
The Equinox costs $3,300 more than the Nordik Recovery. Here is what that gap buys — and buyers should decide which of these matter enough to justify the premium:
+20–30°F of verified heat. 170°F (GGR verified) vs 140–149°F. This is not a spec-sheet difference — it is a fundamentally different sweat experience. At 140°F, many users report the session feels "warm but not intense." At 170°F, deep sweating begins within 15 minutes. The Equinox's temperature has been independently verified by a third-party publication. Nordik Recovery's max temp is manufacturer-stated only.
Named-lab safety verification. EMF: 0.5 mG by Vitatech Electromagnetics (named lab, published methodology). VOC: 27 µg/m³ by VERT Environmental (AIHA-accredited, EPA TO-15). Nordik Recovery claims "low EMF" and "low VOC" without naming a lab or publishing test data for either. The difference is between verified safety and stated safety.
Premium wood with published specs. Kiln-dried eucalyptus at 7% moisture content — a dense hardwood that resists warping, checking, and off-gassing over thousands of heat cycles. Hemlock is a functional softwood but less dense, less scratch-resistant, and more susceptible to moisture damage over time. Nordik Recovery does not publish whether its hemlock is kiln-dried or what moisture content it targets.
App-controlled daily convenience. Remote preheat from your phone eliminates the biggest daily-use barrier: waiting. Start the sauna while cooking dinner, and it is at 170°F when you finish. Guided breathwork sessions transform passive heat exposure into an active wellness practice. Nordik Recovery has no app — you walk to the sauna, press a button on the wall, and wait. That friction difference determines whether you use the sauna 5 days a week or 2.
3.5× longer warranty. 7-year (Equinox) vs 2-year (Nordik Recovery). The Equinox's warranty covers the heaters and cabinet for 7 years and controls for 3 years. The Eclipse carries a limited lifetime warranty. Nordik Recovery's 2-year coverage is among the shortest in the premium infrared category — comparable to budget brands like Dynamic Barcelona and SaunaBox Solara.
Independent editorial validation. The Equinox has been tested hands-on by Fortune, Forbes, GGR (who independently verified 165–170°F), BarBend, Sports Illustrated, Rolling Stone, Family Handyman, and others — 10+ major publications. Nordik Recovery has positive customer reviews on its own website (4.8★), but we did not identify major US publication hands-on sauna reviews as of April 2026. This is the difference between a product that has survived independent scrutiny and one that has been evaluated only by its own customers.
Buyer Routing: Who Should Choose Each
| If you… | Choose |
|---|---|
| Want infrared on a budget under
$6,099 |
Nordik Recovery ($2,799) |
| Want verified 170°F heat from a named publication | Sun Home Equinox (
$6,099 |
| Want published EMF + VOC from named independent labs | Sun Home Equinox |
| Want remote app preheat and guided breathwork | Sun Home Equinox |
| Want kiln-dried hardwood with published moisture content | Sun Home Equinox |
| Want 7-year warranty and in-home service | Sun Home Equinox |
| Want heated floors as a standard feature | Nordik Recovery |
| Want an air ionizer for between-session freshness | Nordik Recovery |
| Want integrated red light therapy | Sun Home Eclipse (
$9,999 |
| Want an outdoor sauna | Sun Home Luminar (
$10,999 |
| Want the broadest independent editorial validation | Sun Home (Fortune, Forbes, GGR, 10+ publications) |
| Want the best value per dollar at entry level | Nordik Recovery ($2,799) |
Sources Reviewed
Nordik Recovery — 2-Person Full Spectrum Infrared Sauna product page
Nordik Recovery — Product FAQ (Zendesk)
Nordik Recovery — Customer Reviews (4.8★)
GGR — Best Infrared Saunas (Sun Home verified 165–170°F)
Sun Home VOC testing — VERT Environmental, AIHA-accredited (April 2026)
Sun Home EMF testing — Vitatech Electromagnetics (January 2025)
BBB — Sun Home Saunas (A+, 4.87/5)
All sources verified April 2026.
Related Guides
Best Infrared Saunas of 2026: 8-Brand Comparison
What Makes a Premium Infrared Sauna Premium?
Is a Cheap Infrared Sauna Good Enough?
Is Full-Spectrum Infrared Actually Better?
Benefits of Kiln-Dried Sauna Wood
Sun Home — Best Home Saunas
In passive room-temperature testing by Surface Optics Corporation on August 31, 2026, the single-bulb felt heater grating sample measured 0.978 directional thermal emittance at 20°; its calculated hemispherical thermal emittance was 0.932 at 300 K. These results describe the tested sample, not every heater or production model; carbon far-infrared panels were not included in this study. See our heater emissivity test results.