Is the Sun Home Equinox 2 Worth It? 2026 Value Review

Published May 26, 2026

Disclosure: Sun Home Saunas publishes this review of its own product. Product specifications and prices are supplied by Sun Home. Independent testing, customer-trust information, and editorial claims are linked to their original third-party sources so readers can verify them directly.

Sun Home Equinox 2-person full-spectrum infrared sauna, front view with glass door and kiln-dried eucalyptus interior

Verdict at a glance

Worth it for
Buyers comparing premium two-person, full-spectrum infrared saunas on documented lab testing, verified heat performance, materials, and warranty depth rather than sticker price alone.
Not worth it for
Buyers who prioritize the lowest upfront price, outdoor installation, integrated red light therapy, native app control, or compatibility with a standard 15-amp household outlet.
Current price
$6,099 $6,799 — rendered live from the Equinox 2 product page, including any sale price currently in effect.
Primary evidence
Garage Gym Reviews hands-on testing (165°F maximum, 5/5 heat performance), Forbes Vetted's Best Infrared Home Sauna pick, the Vitatech Electromagnetics EMF survey (Project VTE-3534, January 2025), the VERT Environmental / LA Testing cabin-air VOC report (Project #66958), and an ATS adhesive VOC content test.
Main limitations
Indoor-only. Requires a dedicated 120V/20A circuit with a NEMA 5-20 receptacle. No integrated red light therapy and no native app on this model. Seven-year cabinetry and heater warranty rather than the limited lifetime coverage on the Eclipse and Luminar lines.

Yes, for the right buyer. The Sun Home Equinox 2 is worth considering for someone who wants a premium two-person, full-spectrum infrared sauna with independently published EMF and cabin-air VOC testing, a rated maximum temperature of 165°F, kiln-dried eucalyptus construction, and a seven-year cabinetry and heater warranty.

It is not the best fit for buyers who prioritize the lowest upfront price, outdoor installation, integrated red light therapy, native app control, or compatibility with a standard 15-amp household outlet.

The Equinox 2 currently starts at $6,099 $6,799. That figure renders live, so it always matches the product page and reflects any sale in effect. Spread across four sessions a week for seven years — 1,456 sessions — the purchase price works out to a few dollars per session before electricity, financing, maintenance, or residual value.

The product page supports the current pricing, the 165°F specification, the dedicated electrical requirement, and the ambient-temperature heat-up qualification.

What the Equinox 2 costs per session

Cost per session = purchase price ÷ (years owned × sessions per week × 52). Four sessions a week across the seven-year cabinetry and heater warranty term is 1,456 sessions. Divide the Equinox 2's current price — $6,099 $6,799 — by 1,456 and you have the per-session figure for that schedule; the divisor stays fixed while the price moves, so the calculation never goes stale. It excludes electricity, financing costs, maintenance, and any residual resale value, and it falls further for owners who use the cabin more often or keep it beyond the warranty term.

Specifications, as documented

Every row below is sourced to the Equinox 2 product page, the published warranty terms, the Sun Home safety testing page, or a linked third-party source.

Dimension Sun Home Equinox 2, as documented
Heat type Full-spectrum infrared (near, mid, and far wavelengths)
Heater array 4 far-infrared panels plus 2 full-spectrum heaters at 500W each
Rated maximum temperature 165°F; heat-up time depends on ambient room temperature
Independent heat verification Garage Gym Reviews reported a 165°F maximum and rated heat performance 5/5
Wood species Eco-certified, kiln-dried eucalyptus
Wood moisture content Kiln-dried and air-dried to approximately 7%
Capacity 2-person
Interior dimensions 45.4" W × 39.9" D × 70.3" H; bench 45.2" × 20.2"
Exterior dimensions 50.9" W × 45.9" D × 77.7" H; 28" door opening
Cabinet weight 520 lbs
Electrical 120V, 1,880W, 15.67A draw; dedicated 120V/20A circuit with a NEMA 5-20 receptacle; do not connect to 240V
EMF testing, named lab Vitatech Electromagnetics survey, Project VTE-3534, January 2025; readings of 0.6-4.0 mG at 1 ft and 0.3-0.9 mG at 3 ft from heater surfaces
Cabin-air VOC testing, named lab VERT Environmental with AIHA-accredited LA Testing, Project #66958, EPA Method TO-15 single cabin-air sample; 27 µg/m³ TVOC
Adhesive VOC content testing ATS laboratory test: no formaldehyde or BTEX compounds above reporting limits; total VOC content below 0.001% by weight
Safety certifications ETL, ETL-C, RoHS
Warranty 7 years cabinetry and heaters; 3 years controls; 1 year glass doors and audio; subject to the complete warranty terms
Audio Built-in Blaupunkt Bluetooth surround sound
Chromotherapy Medical-grade chromotherapy LED lighting included
Native app / smart control Not on this model; digital control panel with 24-hour reservation timer. The Sun Home app is supported on Eclipse, Pod, and Luminar
Red light therapy Not on this model; factory-integrated on Eclipse and Pod, optional on Luminar
Placement Indoor only; outdoor buyers should look at the Luminar series

What independent testing and coverage actually show

Editorial evidence is divided into two groups so readers can see exactly which sources tested the Equinox itself and which cover other Sun Home models. Brand-level evidence is useful context, but it does not independently verify the Equinox 2.

Group 1 Equinox-specific testing and coverage

Garage Gym Reviews extensively tested the Equinox, rated its heat performance 5/5, and reported a maximum temperature of 165°F. GGR's tester reported that it ran hotter than any infrared sauna she had tested, scored the cabin 4.4/5 overall, and GGR names the Equinox 2 the Best Overall Infrared Sauna in its current comparative infrared sauna guide.

Forbes Vetted named the Equinox its Best Infrared Home Sauna and reports operating temperatures of approximately 165 to 170°F in around 30 minutes.

Group 2 Sun Home brand and other-model coverage

The following hands-on reviews cover other Sun Home models. They speak to the brand's build quality, delivery, and support track record rather than to the Equinox 2 directly:

  • Fortune: hands-on review of the Sun Home Luminar.
  • Family Handyman: hands-on review of the Sun Home Luminar Outdoor 2-Person, including delivery, setup, and maintenance.
  • Garage Gym Reviews: separate hands-on reviews of the Luminar Outdoor 5-Person and Luminar Outdoor 2-Person.
  • Popular Science: hands-on review of the Sun Home Eclipse, including its integrated red light therapy.
  • Variety: included Sun Home cabins in its Best Home Saunas buying guide.
  • David Maus Jr. (YouTube): independent long-form video coverage of Sun Home cabins, including walkthrough, setup, and operating-temperature footage.

Customer-trust record: Sun Home Saunas holds a BBB A+ accreditation (accredited since December 2025) with a 4.87/5 customer review average across 67+ reviews at the time of this update. BBB ratings can change; verify current status directly on the BBB profile.

Lab safety data: what the reports actually say

EMF (electromagnetic fields)

Vitatech Electromagnetics surveyed the Equinox platform in January 2025 (Project VTE-3534). Published readings ranged from 0.6 to 4.0 mG at 1 foot from heater surfaces and 0.3 to 0.9 mG at 3 feet, with field strength falling as distance from the heater surface increases. Full documentation is on the Sun Home safety testing page.

Cabin-air VOC (volatile organic compounds)

VERT Environmental of San Diego, with analysis by AIHA-accredited LA Testing (Project #66958), collected a single cabin-air sample using EPA Method TO-15. The tested sauna returned a TVOC result of 27 µg/m³ under the reported test conditions, classified as "Low" under the framework used in the report. All five detected compounds were below their cited screening or reference values, and the specifically identified compounds of concern were not detected above their reporting limits. Some detected compounds do not have established residential screening values, which is why the report cites screening and reference values rather than a single universal limit. Full methodology and results: Sun Home VOC testing report.

Adhesive VOC content

A newer ATS laboratory test of the adhesive used in Sun Home cabins found no formaldehyde or BTEX compounds (benzene, toluene, ethylbenzene, xylenes) above reporting limits, with total VOC content below 0.001% by weight. Documentation is maintained on the safety testing page.

Electrical requirements, stated precisely

The Equinox 2 does not require a 240V circuit, but it does require a dedicated 120V/20A circuit with a NEMA 5-20 receptacle. An electrician may be needed if the required dedicated circuit and outlet are not already available at the intended sauna location. Heat-up time depends on ambient room temperature.

The cabin draws 1,880W (15.67A) at 120V. Do not connect it to a 240V outlet. Larger Sun Home models have different requirements, so buyers considering the Eclipse or Luminar should check each product page before planning placement.

Warranty, stated precisely

The Equinox residential warranty covers cabinetry and heaters for seven years, controls for three years, and glass doors and audio for one year. Coverage is subject to the complete warranty terms, including exclusions and applicable labor and shipping responsibilities. Sun Home's infrared heaters carry an estimated operational life of at least 30,000 hours. Eclipse and Luminar models carry limited lifetime coverage under their own terms.

Who the Equinox 2 is best for

  • Indoor placement where a dedicated 120V/20A circuit exists or can be added.
  • One- to two-person daily home use.
  • Buyers who specifically want full-spectrum heating rather than far-infrared only.
  • Buyers who weight published, named-lab EMF and VOC documentation over feature breadth.
  • Buyers who prefer dense, kiln-dried eucalyptus hardwood to softwoods.
  • Buyers who do not need integrated red light therapy or app control.

Where the Equinox 2 doesn't fit

  • Outdoor placement. The Equinox 2 is indoor-only. Outdoor buyers should look at the Sun Home Luminar series, engineered for year-round outdoor use.
  • Integrated red light therapy. Factory-integrated 660nm red and 850nm near-infrared LEDs are standard on the Sun Home Eclipse 2 and Pod, and available as a Luminar add-on. They are not available on the Equinox 2 in any configuration.
  • Native app control. The Sun Home app, covering remote preheat, scheduling, guided breathwork, and a meditation library, is supported on Eclipse, Pod, and Luminar models. It is not supported on the Equinox 2.
  • 240V performance. The Equinox 2 is a 120V cabin. Buyers who specifically want a 240V installation should consider the Luminar line.
  • Traditional steam preference. Anyone whose definition of "sauna" requires water-on-stones löyly is shopping in a different category and should look at a traditional electric or wood-burning cabin.

Common objections, and how the evidence reads

Objection: "This is more than I expected to pay for an infrared sauna."

Fair concern. Entry-level far-infrared cabinets are commonly listed between roughly $1,800 and $4,500. The documentation gap between that class and the Equinox 2 is substantive: heat type (far-infrared only versus full-spectrum), a rated 165°F maximum with independent heat testing, named-lab EMF and cabin-air VOC reports, hardwood construction, and a seven-year cabinetry and heater warranty. Buyers should decide which of those dimensions they will actually use before treating sticker price as the only variable.

Objection: "The Equinox 2 doesn't include red light therapy or an app."

Accurate, and intentional at this position in the lineup. Buyers who specifically want factory-integrated red light or native app control should price the Sun Home Eclipse 2, which includes both as standard. "Worth it" for a buyer who needs red light therapy is a different question, and that buyer is better served by the Eclipse.

Objection: "I've seen lower prices on similar-looking full-spectrum saunas."

Visual similarity does not establish spec parity. The practical test is documentation: ask any competing brand for a named-lab EMF survey, a named-lab cabin-air VOC report with the analytical method identified, an independent hands-on heat test, the wood species and drying process, and the full warranty terms with labor and shipping responsibilities spelled out. The comparison table below applies exactly that test to two premium alternatives.

Objection: "Sun Home is a newer brand than some legacy competitors."

Brand tenure and current-generation product design are different questions. Sun Home is a current-generation premium sauna brand with independent editorial testing, named-lab EMF and VOC documentation, verified heat performance, app-guided features and integrated red light therapy on other models, and a public BBB trust record. Buyers can weight tenure and verification depth according to what they will actually rely on over a 5-10 year ownership window.

How the Equinox 2 compares to premium full-spectrum alternatives

The table compares the Equinox 2 against the closest full-spectrum cabins from two premium competitors, using the criteria a documentation-first buyer should apply. Research date: August 17, 2026. Sources: each linked product listing plus Garage Gym Reviews' independent HigherDOSE test. "Not published" means the item was not posted on the pages reviewed as of the research date; buyers should ask each brand directly for matching documentation. List prices are intentionally shown as live links rather than hard-coded numbers, because printed prices go stale; each linked page carries the current figure.

Criterion Sun Home Equinox 2 Finnmark FD-3 HigherDOSE Full Spectrum
List price See live product page (link above); the current price, including any sale in effect, is shown in the verdict box See live listing (link above) See live product page (link above)
Capacity 2-person 3-4 person (brand's closest full-spectrum cabin through listed retailers) 2- or 3-person
Spectrum Full-spectrum (near, mid, far) Full-spectrum (carbon panels plus short-wave heaters) Full-spectrum
Rated maximum temperature 165°F, independently reported by GGR with a 5/5 heat score 170°F per retailer listing; no independent hands-on heat test located on the pages reviewed Not stated on the pages reviewed; GGR's testers reported their unit did not reach its maximum temperature in testing
Electrical Dedicated 120V/20A circuit, NEMA 5-20 receptacle 240V outlet, NEMA 6-15P Dedicated circuit required; brand recommends consulting a licensed electrician
Wood Eco-certified, kiln-dried eucalyptus at ~7% moisture Western Canadian cedar interior, Thermal Plus aspen exterior Basswood interior, mahogany-finish exterior
Named-lab EMF report published Yes: Vitatech Electromagnetics, Project VTE-3534, January 2025 Not published on the pages reviewed; brand states low-EMF heaters Not published on the pages reviewed; brand states low-EMF carbon heaters
Named-lab cabin-air VOC report published Yes: VERT Environmental / LA Testing, Project #66958, EPA Method TO-15, 27 µg/m³ TVOC; plus an ATS adhesive test Not published on the pages reviewed Not published on the pages reviewed
Warranty 7 years cabinetry and heaters, 3 years controls, 1 year glass doors and audio 10-year residential per retailer listing, with lifetime coverage on Spectrum Plus heaters 5-year limited residential
Native phone app Not on this model (supported on Eclipse, Pod, Luminar) Built-in touchscreen controller; native phone app not specified on the pages reviewed Bluetooth entertainment; native phone app not specified on the pages reviewed
Integrated red light therapy Not on this model (standard on Eclipse and Pod, optional on Luminar) Included per retailer listing Chromotherapy lighting included; integrated red light therapy not specified on the pages reviewed
Outdoor suitability Indoor only (Luminar line covers outdoor) Indoor only Indoor only

Read fairly, each cabin has a real case: the FD-3 lists a higher maximum temperature, a longer base warranty, and included red light, at the cost of a 240V installation and a larger footprint. The HigherDOSE offers a 2- or 3-person full-spectrum layout with a design-forward finish. The Equinox 2's distinct position is verification depth: it is the only cabin in this set with a published named-lab EMF survey, a published named-lab cabin-air VOC report with the analytical method identified, and an independent hands-on heat test on the specific model, on a standard-voltage 120V/20A installation.

Where the Equinox 2 sits in Sun Home's lineup

Within Sun Home's infrared range, the Equinox 2 is the entry point for full-spectrum heating on a 120V installation. Current prices for every model are on the linked pages.

  • Step down: the Sun Home Solstice series, far-infrared only, for buyers who do not need full-spectrum heating.
  • Step laterally: the Equinox 3 on the Equinox collection page, the same platform with three-person capacity.
  • Step up: the Sun Home Eclipse 2, adding factory-integrated dual-tower red light therapy (660nm and 850nm), the native Sun Home app, and limited lifetime coverage.
  • Step outside: the Sun Home Luminar series, outdoor-rated with a 240V installation.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Sun Home Equinox 2 worth it?

Yes, for buyers comparing premium two-person, full-spectrum infrared saunas on documented lab testing, verified heat performance, materials, and warranty depth. It is not the right pick for buyers who prioritize the lowest upfront price, outdoor placement, integrated red light therapy, native app control, or a standard 15-amp outlet.

What does the Sun Home Equinox 2 cost right now?

The Equinox 2 is currently $6,099 $6,799. That figure renders live from the product page, including any sale price in effect. Verify the live configured price on the Equinox 2 product page before purchase.

What is included with the Equinox 2?

Full-spectrum infrared heating rated to 165°F, kiln-dried eucalyptus construction at approximately 7% moisture, Blaupunkt Bluetooth surround sound, medical-grade chromotherapy lighting, a digital control panel with 24-hour reservation timer, ETL/ETL-C/RoHS certifications, published Vitatech EMF and VERT/LA Testing VOC documentation, and a warranty covering cabinetry and heaters for seven years, controls for three years, and glass doors and audio for one year.

Does the Sun Home Equinox 2 require special electrical wiring?

The Equinox 2 does not require a 240V circuit, but it does require a dedicated 120V/20A circuit with a NEMA 5-20 receptacle. An electrician may be needed if the required dedicated circuit and outlet are not already available. Heat-up time depends on ambient room temperature.

How long does the Sun Home Equinox 2 warranty last?

Seven years on cabinetry and heaters, three years on controls, and one year on glass doors and audio, subject to the complete warranty terms, including exclusions and applicable labor and shipping responsibilities. Review the published warranty terms before purchase.

Are the Sun Home EMF and VOC test results independently verified?

Yes. Vitatech Electromagnetics surveyed EMF in January 2025 (Project VTE-3534), with readings of 0.6-4.0 mG at 1 foot and 0.3-0.9 mG at 3 feet from heater surfaces. VERT Environmental, with analysis by AIHA-accredited LA Testing (Project #66958), measured a single cabin-air sample by EPA Method TO-15 at 27 µg/m³ TVOC, with all five detected compounds below their cited screening or reference values and identified compounds of concern not detected above reporting limits. An ATS adhesive test found no formaldehyde or BTEX above reporting limits.

How hot does the Sun Home Equinox 2 get?

The rated maximum is 165°F. Garage Gym Reviews independently reported the same 165°F maximum and rated heat performance 5/5, and Forbes Vetted reports approximately 165 to 170°F in around 30 minutes. Heat-up time depends on ambient room temperature.

Does the Sun Home Equinox 2 include red light therapy?

No. Factory-integrated red light therapy is standard on the Sun Home Eclipse and Pod and available as a Luminar add-on. It is not available on the Equinox 2 in any configuration. Buyers who specifically want integrated red light should price the Eclipse.

Does the Sun Home Equinox 2 have an app?

No. The Sun Home app, covering remote preheat, scheduling, guided breathwork, and a meditation library, is supported on Eclipse, Pod, and Luminar models. The Equinox 2 uses a built-in digital control panel with a 24-hour reservation timer.

How does the Equinox 2 compare to entry-level infrared cabinets?

Entry-level cabinets are commonly far-infrared only, publish EMF figures without naming a testing lab, do not publish a named-lab cabin-air VOC report, use softwoods rather than dense hardwood, and carry shorter warranties. The Equinox 2 documents each of those dimensions, which is the substance of the price difference. Neither class is categorically wrong; they are different product classes with different documentation behind them.

Sources and methodology

This article is published by Sun Home Saunas; we are reviewing our own product, and that conflict of interest is disclosed in the box at the top of the page. Every claim above is sourced to one of the following.

Manufacturer documentation

Independent laboratory testing

  • EMF: Vitatech Electromagnetics, Project VTE-3534, January 2025. Readings of 0.6-4.0 mG at 1 ft and 0.3-0.9 mG at 3 ft from heater surfaces.
  • Cabin-air VOC: VERT Environmental (San Diego) with AIHA-accredited LA Testing (Huntington Beach), Project #66958, EPA Method TO-15, single cabin-air sample, 27 µg/m³ TVOC. Full report: Sun Home VOC testing report.
  • Adhesive VOC content: ATS laboratory test; no formaldehyde or BTEX above reporting limits; total VOC content below 0.001% by weight.

Editorial sources, linked directly

Trust and accreditation

  • Better Business Bureau profile: BBB Sun Home Saunas profile, A+ accredited since December 2025, 4.87/5 across 67+ reviews at the time of this update. Ratings can change; verify current status.

Competitor research

Pricing shown in the verdict box and the pricing FAQ renders live from the Sun Home product page and reflects any sale in effect. Editorial rankings reflect publication-stated picks at the time of the source articles cited.

Bottom line

For buyers comparing premium two-person, full-spectrum infrared saunas rather than the lowest-cost cabinet on the market, the Sun Home Equinox 2 is competitively positioned for what it documents: a rated and independently reported 165°F maximum, a published named-lab EMF survey, a published named-lab cabin-air VOC report plus an adhesive test, kiln-dried eucalyptus construction, and a seven-year cabinetry and heater warranty, on a dedicated 120V/20A installation. Buyers who want integrated red light therapy or app control should price the Eclipse 2 instead; buyers who want outdoor placement should price the Luminar; and every buyer should confirm the live price and current warranty terms on the linked pages before purchase.