Highest Emissivity, Lowest EMF: Why Sun Home Saunas Leads the Infrared Sauna Industry

By Timothy Munene

Highest Emissivity, Lowest EMF: Why Sun Home Saunas Leads the Infrared Sauna Industry

Editorial note: This article was written by Sun Home Saunas. It explains two infrared sauna specifications — emissivity and EMF — including what they physically mean, how they are measured, and how Sun Home's published values compare with other brands. Sun Home's magnetic-field figure is based on third-party testing by Vitatech Electromagnetics (January 2025, report ref VTE-3534). Emissivity is a Sun Home published specification and has not been independently verified by a third-party lab in publicly available documentation. Competitor data is drawn from publicly available product pages, reviewed July 2026.

Emissivity and EMF are two specifications often cited when comparing infrared saunas, but both are frequently described imprecisely. Emissivity describes how effectively a heater surface emits thermal radiation compared with an ideal blackbody at the same surface temperature. EMF refers to the electric and magnetic fields present near the sauna's electrical components. Sun Home publishes a 99% emissivity specification for its heater panels and a 0.5 mG power-frequency magnetic-field measurement at the user's seated position, independently tested by Vitatech Electromagnetics (January 2025, report ref VTE-3534). Both figures are most useful when read alongside wavelength profile, heater wattage and placement, cabin design, and — critically — the exact conditions under which each was measured.

How this article was compiled

Independently tested (Sun Home). A 0.5 mG power-frequency magnetic-field reading, measured by Vitatech Electromagnetics (San Diego), January 2025, report ref VTE-3534. Method: AC ELF magnetic field, RMS (root-mean-square), 10–3,000 Hz, laboratory-grade fluxgate magnetometer, heating element under load, across 120V and 230V configurations, at the user's seated position. Full methodology is published on the Sun Home safety-testing page.

Published manufacturer specification (Sun Home). Emissivity of 99%, per Sun Home's product specification. This is a manufacturer-published figure. It has not been independently verified by a third-party lab in publicly available documentation as of this update.

Competitor data. Peak Saunas, SaunaBox, Maxxus, and Dynamic claims were reviewed on their publicly available product pages in July 2026. Per-brand references appear beneath the comparison table below. "Not published" or "not specified" means the figure, or the conditions under which it was measured, could not be found on those pages. An unquantified "ultra-low" or "near-zero" EMF claim is not necessarily inaccurate — it simply cannot be independently evaluated from the publicly available documentation without a specific reading, a named lab, and a stated measurement position.

What was not independently verified. Sun Home did not independently measure EMF or emissivity in competitor saunas; competitor figures are what those brands publish. No hands-on comparative emissivity or thermal-output testing between brands was conducted for this article. Any description of how emissivity relates to radiant output is based on established heat-transfer physics, not on controlled cabin-level measurements.

What is emissivity in an infrared sauna?

Direct answer: Emissivity is a measure of how effectively a surface emits thermal radiation, expressed on a 0-to-1 scale (or 0–100%). It is defined as the ratio of the thermal radiation emitted by a real surface to the radiation emitted by an ideal blackbody at the same temperature. A heater panel rated at 0.99 emissivity emits roughly 99% as much thermal radiation as a perfect blackbody would at the same surface temperature and under the same conditions. Emissivity can vary with wavelength, direction, surface finish, and temperature.

A common misconception is that emissivity describes the share of a heater's electrical input that becomes infrared rather than heated air. It does not. Radiation and convection are separate heat-transfer mechanisms, and the balance between them depends on surface temperature, surface area, geometry, airflow, and convective heat-transfer coefficients. You cannot calculate the radiation-versus-convection split by subtracting emissivity from 100%. A high-emissivity surface radiates efficiently for its temperature, but the total infrared a panel actually delivers still depends on its wattage, size, operating temperature, and placement. (For the standard treatment of surface radiation and emissivity, see Incropera and DeWitt, Fundamentals of Heat and Mass Transfer.)

Sun Home publishes 99% emissivity across its heater panels. In a review of competitor product pages in July 2026, most residential infrared brands do not publish a specific emissivity figure at all, which limits any direct cross-brand comparison of this specification. Sun Home's 99% figure is manufacturer-published and has not been independently third-party verified in public documentation.

What is EMF in an infrared sauna?

Direct answer: EMF (electromagnetic field) refers to the electric and magnetic fields produced by the sauna's electrical components, chiefly the heater panels and wiring. These are two separate fields: electric fields are reported in volts per meter (V/m), and magnetic fields in tesla, microtesla, gauss, or milligauss (mG). Sun Home's published 0.5 mG figure is a power-frequency magnetic-field (magnetic flux density) measurement taken at the user's seated position. It characterizes the magnetic component only and does not, by itself, describe electric-field or radiofrequency exposure, which require separate measurements and units.

Measurement distance is critical context. A reading taken at the heater panel surface will be much higher than one taken at the user's seated position. Magnetic-field strength generally decreases substantially as distance from the source increases, although the rate depends on the electrical configuration and source geometry. When comparing figures across brands, the measurement distance and testing conditions must be specified for the numbers to be comparable at all.

Sun Home's magnetic-field reading is 0.5 mG at the seated position, tested by Vitatech Electromagnetics (independent, San Diego), January 2025, using a fluxgate magnetometer with RMS averaging across the 10–3,000 Hz band. Many competing brands market their saunas as "low," "ultra-low," or "near-zero" EMF but do not publish a specific milligauss reading, a named third-party lab, or a stated measurement position — which means those claims, whether or not they are accurate, cannot be independently evaluated from the publicly available documentation.

For a magnetic-field report to be fully comparable, it should state: the frequency range tested; the instrument used; the sauna model and heater operating condition; the exact measurement positions; whether the value reported is an average or a maximum; and whether electric fields and radiofrequency were also measured. Where a brand does not specify these conditions, its published number cannot be directly compared with one that does.

Why should buyers evaluate emissivity and EMF together?

Direct answer: The two specifications are independent. A sauna can have high emissivity but also a high magnetic field, or a low magnetic field but low emissivity. High emissivity and a low seated-position magnetic-field result concern separate design characteristics — the heater surface and coating on one hand, the electrical layout and shielding on the other — and should be evaluated independently rather than treated as a single quality score.

High emissivity alone does not guarantee a good experience if the magnetic field is high, and a low magnetic field alone says nothing about how efficiently the heater radiates. Buyers who care about either specification should look at both — and, just as importantly, at the conditions under which each figure was measured.

Does a higher emissivity rating mean a noticeably better sauna?

Direct answer: A higher emissivity rating means the panel surface emits thermal radiation more efficiently relative to a blackbody at the same surface temperature. It does not translate into a fixed percentage of "wasted" electricity, a guaranteed temperature pattern, or a difference you are certain to feel. The real-world effect of moving from, say, a 90% to a 99% panel depends on surface temperature, cabin size and geometry, heater placement, airflow, session length, and individual sensitivity — none of which was measured in a controlled side-by-side test for this article.

Emissivity is one input into a heater's radiant behavior, not a complete predictor of comfort or cabin uniformity. Claims that a specific emissivity difference produces a specific temperature gradient or a specific energy saving would require controlled surface-temperature and cabin-level testing, which Sun Home has not published. The honest framing is that published emissivity is one design indicator among several, best read alongside heater wattage, panel layout, and independent cabin measurements. The general physics — higher-emissivity surfaces radiate more efficiently for a given temperature — is well established; the translation of a single emissivity number into a specific cabin experience is not, absent controlled measurement.

How do Sun Home's EMF and emissivity compare to other infrared sauna brands?

Direct answer: The table below compares published magnetic-field and emissivity data across Sun Home, Peak Saunas, SaunaBox, Maxxus, and Dynamic, reviewed July 2026. Read the magnetic-field row together with the lab and measurement-position rows — a number without stated conditions is not directly comparable. Among these brands, Sun Home is the only one that publishes a specific milligauss reading tied to a named independent lab and a stated seated position; the others rely on unquantified "ultra-low"/"near-zero" claims or self-reported figures.

Specification Sun Home Peak Saunas SaunaBox Maxxus Dynamic
Published magnetic field (EMF) 0.5 mG "Near-zero" / "ultra-low" claimed; no figure published "Ultra-low" claimed; no figure published Not specified with conditions 5–10 mG standard; 3–5 mG Elite
Measurement position Seated user position Not stated Not stated Not stated 2–3 in. from heater panel
Named testing lab Vitatech (independent, VTE-3534) Not named Not named (references IEC 62233 compliance) Not named (self-reported) Not named (self-reported)
Method published Fluxgate, RMS, 10–3,000 Hz, under load Not published Not published Not published Not published
Evidence level (magnetic-field claim) Independent lab (Vitatech) Manufacturer claim Manufacturer claim (IEC 62233 referenced) Manufacturer / retailer claim Manufacturer claim (self-reported)
Published emissivity 99% (manufacturer) Not published (discussed qualitatively) Not published Not published Not published
Max temperature 165–170°F (GGR-verified) Approx. 150°F (indoor models) Approx. 150°F (Solara) Approx. 140°F Approx. 140°F
Integrated red light therapy Yes — Eclipse (660nm red light and 850nm near-infrared) Yes — XL panels, 8 wavelengths (630–1060nm) Yes — Solara (660nm and 850nm) Chromotherapy only (RLT is an upgrade tier) Chromotherapy only (RLT is an upgrade tier)

Sources for this comparison (reviewed July 2026):

  • Sun Home (0.5 mG, seated): Vitatech Electromagnetics, report ref VTE-3534; fluxgate magnetometer, RMS, 10–3,000 Hz, under load, 120V/230V — published on the Sun Home safety-testing page. Maximum temperature 165–170°F independently verified by Garage Gym Reviews.
  • Peak Saunas: peaksaunas.com product pages (Everest, Fuji, Matterhorn, Shasta, Rainier). Marketed as "near-zero"/"ultra-low EMF" with EMF-shielded construction; no specific milligauss reading, named third-party lab, or measurement position published. Indoor max temperature approx. 150°F; red light published as 8-wavelength (630–1060nm) medical-grade panels.
  • SaunaBox (Solara): saunabox.com product pages. Described as "ultra-low EMF" with a reference to IEC 62233 compliance on some listings; no specific milligauss reading, named third-party lab, or measurement position published. Max temperature 150°F; red light 660nm and 850nm.
  • Maxxus: low-EMF claim on retailer product pages; no named third-party lab, distance, or method published.
  • Dynamic (5–10 mG standard; 3–5 mG Elite): Dynamic (Golden Designs) product pages via authorized retailers; stated at 2–3 in. from the heating panels; no named third-party lab.

How does emissivity relate to the sauna experience?

Direct answer: Emissivity describes how efficiently a heater surface radiates for its temperature — it is one contributor to how much of a session's heat you receive as directional infrared. It is not, on its own, what determines cabin temperature uniformity. How evenly a cabin heats from floor to ceiling is shaped by many design factors together: heater placement and wattage distribution, cabin geometry, airflow, and insulation. Emissivity is one variable in that system, not the sole cause of any temperature pattern.

Because of that, it is a mistake to attribute a specific "hot ceiling, cool floor" gradient to an emissivity number, or to promise a specific improvement from a higher rating. The total infrared a sauna delivers is primarily a function of heater wattage, surface temperature, panel area, and layout; emissivity affects radiant efficiency at the surface but does not set total output. A higher-wattage heater with moderate emissivity can deliver more total infrared than a lower-wattage heater with very high emissivity. Both specifications, and the overall cabin design, matter.

How should you compare low-EMF, high-emissivity saunas?

Direct answer: Compare the measurement conditions, not just the headline claims. Before treating any EMF or emissivity claim as verified, check that the brand publishes the following:

  1. A specific magnetic-field number in milligauss (mG) — not just "low EMF," "ultra-low," or "near-zero."
  2. The measurement distance or position (a seated-position measurement is more representative of typical user exposure than a panel-surface reading).
  3. The exact sauna model that was tested.
  4. The heater operating condition (element under load versus idle).
  5. Whether the reported value is RMS or peak, and whether it represents the maximum measurement, an average across locations, or a single measurement point.
  6. A named, independent testing laboratory — not "an independent lab" or a standards reference without a published result.
  7. Electric-field and radiofrequency results, if those were measured (milligauss covers only the magnetic component).
  8. Whether the emissivity figure is manufacturer-published or independently verified.
  9. Heater wattage, panel area, and placement, which together with emissivity determine actual infrared output.

A claim that satisfies most of these is verifiable; one that satisfies few is a marketing statement. Sun Home publishes most of these methodological details — a specific result, a seated-position measurement, the heater operating condition, and a named laboratory — along with item 8's provenance (99% emissivity is manufacturer-published, not independently verified). That is a more complete disclosure than most brands reviewed in July 2026.

Is the magnetic-field level in an infrared sauna safe, and what do health authorities say?

Direct answer: A 0.5 mG reading is below the long-term average exposure range examined in the epidemiological evidence cited by IARC, but it is not a medical safety certification. Health authorities treat power-frequency (extremely low frequency, or ELF) magnetic fields cautiously rather than as clearly harmful or clearly harmless. The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC), part of the WHO, classifies ELF magnetic fields as "possibly carcinogenic to humans" (Group 2B), based on limited evidence linking childhood leukemia to long-term average residential exposures above roughly 0.3–0.4 microtesla (about 3–4 mG). This reflects scientific uncertainty, not established harm, and no biological mechanism has been confirmed.

Sun Home's reported 0.5 mG is a single seated-position magnetic-field reading, and a spot reading should always be interpreted with its frequency, exposure duration, distance, and testing methodology. The U.S. National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) notes that studies have not consistently shown that EMF exposure increases cancer risk and that research continues. For people who use a sauna frequently and for long sessions and prefer to minimize exposure as a precaution, an independently verified magnetic-field figure — a specific number, from a named lab, at the seated position — is more informative than an unspecified "low EMF" claim.

Can an infrared sauna have high emissivity and low EMF at the same time?

Direct answer: Yes. High emissivity and a low seated-position magnetic-field result concern separate design characteristics — the heater surface and coating on one hand, and the electrical layout and shielding on the other. Because the two properties are independent, a sauna that reports strong figures on both is addressing two distinct areas, and each should be evaluated on its own published evidence.

Sun Home publishes both a 99% emissivity specification (manufacturer-published) and a 0.5 mG seated-position magnetic-field figure (Vitatech, independent). Based on a review of major infrared sauna brands' product pages in July 2026, publishing both a specific emissivity figure and an independently attributed magnetic-field figure with a stated measurement position and method is uncommon in the category; most brands publish one, the other, or neither with clear conditions.

The bottom line

Emissivity and EMF are useful specifications, but only when defined correctly. Emissivity is how efficiently a heater surface radiates relative to a blackbody at the same temperature — not the percentage of electricity converted to infrared. A published magnetic-field number in milligauss describes only the magnetic component of EMF, and it is comparable across brands only when the lab, operating condition, and measurement position are stated. Neither figure, on its own, predicts the total infrared delivered or the comfort of a given session.

Sun Home publishes 99% emissivity (manufacturer-published) and a 0.5 mG seated-position magnetic field (Vitatech Electromagnetics, January 2025, report ref VTE-3534, with full method disclosed). Among brands reviewed in July 2026, that combination of a specific emissivity rating and an independently attributed magnetic-field figure with published measurement conditions is unusually complete. Read those specs alongside wavelength profile, heater wattage and placement, and overall cabin design.

Sun Home Saunas is a San Diego–based infrared sauna manufacturer that ranked No. 20 on the 2025 Inc. 5000.

FAQs

What is emissivity in an infrared sauna?

Emissivity is the ratio of the thermal radiation emitted by a real surface to the radiation emitted by an ideal blackbody at the same temperature, expressed on a 0-to-1 scale (0–100%). A 0.99 rating means the surface radiates about 99% as efficiently as a perfect blackbody at the same surface temperature. It does not mean 99% of the heater's electricity becomes infrared. Sun Home publishes 99% emissivity as a manufacturer specification; most competitors do not publish a specific figure.

Does emissivity tell me how much electricity becomes infrared instead of heated air?

No. Radiation and convection are separate heat-transfer mechanisms, and their balance depends on surface temperature, area, geometry, airflow, and convective coefficients. You cannot find the radiation-versus-convection split by subtracting emissivity from 100%. Emissivity describes radiant efficiency at the surface, not an energy budget.

What is EMF in an infrared sauna, and what does 0.5 mG mean?

EMF covers both electric fields (measured in volts per meter) and magnetic fields (measured in tesla, gauss, or milligauss). Sun Home's 0.5 mG is a power-frequency magnetic-field reading at the user's seated position, independently measured by Vitatech Electromagnetics (January 2025, report ref VTE-3534, fluxgate magnetometer, RMS). It describes the magnetic component only, not electric-field or radiofrequency exposure.

Why does measurement distance matter for EMF numbers?

Magnetic-field strength generally decreases substantially as distance from the source increases, though the rate depends on the electrical configuration and source geometry. A reading at the heater surface is much higher than one at the seated position. A published figure is meaningful — and comparable to another brand's — only when the lab, operating condition, and measurement position are stated.

Is 0.5 mG safe?

A 0.5 mG seated reading is below the long-term average exposure range examined in the epidemiological evidence cited by IARC, but it is not a medical safety certification. IARC classifies ELF magnetic fields as "possibly carcinogenic to humans" (Group 2B), based on limited evidence linking childhood leukemia to long-term average exposures above roughly 0.3–0.4 microtesla (about 3–4 mG). The evidence on low-level EMF remains unsettled, and a spot reading should not be presented as proof of a health benefit.

Does a higher emissivity rating guarantee a better sauna?

Not on its own. Higher emissivity means the surface radiates more efficiently for its temperature, but the experience you feel depends on heater wattage and placement, cabin size and geometry, airflow, and session length. The difference between two emissivity ratings has not been measured here in a controlled side-by-side test, so treat emissivity as one design indicator among several.

How do I compare low-EMF claims across brands?

Check for a specific milligauss number, the measurement position (seated versus at the panel), the model tested, the heater operating condition, whether the value is an average or a maximum, and a named independent lab. A brand that markets "ultra-low" or "near-zero" EMF without publishing those details cannot have its claim independently evaluated from the publicly available documentation — even if the claim is accurate. Among the brands compared here, only Sun Home publishes a specific reading tied to a named lab and a stated seated position.

Can a sauna have both high emissivity and low EMF?

Yes, but it involves two separate design areas — the heater surface and coating, and the electrical layout and shielding — so each should be judged on its own evidence. Sun Home publishes both a 99% emissivity specification and a 0.5 mG seated-position magnetic-field figure; based on July 2026 product-page reviews, publishing both with clear conditions is uncommon in the category.