Sun Home vs Backyard Discovery Saunas: Premium Specialist vs Value Outdoor Brand

Published May 7, 2026

Last reviewed: August 4, 2026 · Prices, specifications, testing scope, and warranty terms checked against current manufacturer and retailer pages on August 4, 2026 · Prices are re-checked when a listed promotion ends or a product page changes; full specification and warranty review scheduled for February 2027

Editorial note: This comparison is published by Sun Home Saunas, which competes directly with the brand compared here. To keep it useful anyway, every price is dated, every claim is labeled by evidence type, and where Backyard Discovery wins a category — and it wins several — the tables say so.

Backyard Discovery is the stronger entry-price route in this comparison: the Rylan 2-Person listed at $2,299 with a $1,999 promotional price on August 4, 2026, and includes far-infrared heat from 8 carbon panels, red light therapy at 660 nm and 850 nm, chromotherapy, Bluetooth speakers, and a 120V / 15A dedicated-circuit electrical requirement. Sun Home is the stronger premium-feature route: the Eclipse 2 combines full-spectrum heat, dual integrated red light towers, app control, and surround audio at $10,599 list ( $10,599 promotional), and leads our published premium comparison at 7.83/10. Outdoors, Backyard Discovery sells traditional electric-stone saunas while Sun Home’s Luminar is outdoor infrared, so buyers should choose the modality before the brand. Both brands publish named-laboratory EMF documentation — from the same laboratory, Vitatech Electromagnetics — at different scopes and measurement positions, so this comparison declares no single-number EMF winner. Sun Home separately publishes one cabin-air VOC sample and an adhesive-emissions screen, for which no Backyard Discovery equivalent was identified on the pages reviewed.

At a glance: route by what you are actually buying

Buyer priority Route Why it fits
Lowest-price indoor infrared with red light included Backyard Discovery Rylan 2-Person ($2,299 list; $1,999 promotional) Red light therapy at 660 nm and 850 nm, chromotherapy, and Bluetooth speakers standard at a fraction of premium-tier pricing
Lightest indoor electrical requirement Backyard Discovery Rylan 1- or 2-Person 120V / 15A dedicated circuit and compatible receptacle, per the manufacturer; Sun Home’s indoor models require 20A or 30A dedicated circuits
Mass-retail purchase path and retail returns Backyard Discovery Sold through Home Depot, Lowe’s, Amazon, and direct, with free driveway delivery and retailer return windows
Outdoor traditional steam sauna Backyard Discovery Paxton, Lennon, or Henley 9kW PrairieFire electric-stone heater with stones, bucket, and ladle included — the classic wet-or-dry Finnish format, from $11,599 list ( $11,599 promotional) for the Paxton 2–4
Outdoor infrared sauna Sun Home Luminar 2 ( $11,599 list; $11,599 promotional) The outdoor infrared modality between these two brands: aluminum exterior, cedar interior, native app, 240V / 20A circuit
Most complete integrated premium indoor package Sun Home Eclipse 2 ( $10,599 list; $10,599 promotional) Full-spectrum heat, dual red light towers, native app, and surround audio in one cabin; 7.83/10 in our published premium comparison
Published cabin-air and adhesive documentation Sun Home A named-lab cabin-air VOC sample and an adhesive-emissions screen with methods and results disclosed; no Backyard Discovery equivalent identified on the pages reviewed
One-person indoor with integrated red light and app Sun Home Pod ( $6,699 list; $6,699 promotional) Far-infrared solo cabin with 660 nm and 850 nm red light and the native Sun Home app
Value-scored field beyond these two brands See the value-weighted comparison Five configurations scored for price-first buyers; a competitor leads that scoring

Who is Backyard Discovery?

Backyard Discovery is a long-established outdoor-products company — headquartered in Pittsburg, Kansas, and building outdoor and indoor products since 1968 — best known for residential playsets, gazebos, pergolas, and outdoor structures sold through national retailers. It announced its first four sauna collections on November 20, 2025 [11]: the Rylan indoor infrared series (1-, 2-, and 4-person, plus a 4-person corner layout) and three outdoor traditional shapes — the Paxton barrel, Lennon cube, and Henley cabin (a Bennett cabin style also appears in the brand’s current materials) — each outdoor shape in 2–4 and 4–6 person sizes with covered-porch variants. Retail listings followed at national home-improvement retailers, and the saunas are sold today through Home Depot, Lowe’s, Amazon [12], and backyarddiscovery.com with free driveway delivery, optional assembly service ($299 for the indoor Rylan; $499–$599 for outdoor models, with electrical work excluded in all cases), and assembly guidance through the BILT app. The company brings decades of ready-to-assemble outdoor-structure manufacturing to the category; its sauna line itself has been in market since the November 2025 announcement.

Who is Sun Home Saunas?

Sun Home Saunas is a San Diego-based sauna and cold-plunge specialist whose primary business is residential heat therapy: indoor infrared saunas (the Equinox and Solstice lines, the Eclipse 2- and 4-person, and the one-person Pod) and the patented Luminar outdoor infrared series. As corporate trust signals — context about the company, not evidence about any product’s heat, EMF, or durability — Sun Home was ranked No. 20 on the 2025 Inc. 5000 list of America’s fastest-growing private companies and holds BBB accreditation with an A+ rating [20]. Its models carry hands-on editorial coverage from outlets including Popular Science — which named the Eclipse 2-Person its top overall pick in its February 2026 home-sauna guide — Garage Gym Reviews, and The Good Trade. Sun Home publishes named-lab testing with disclosed values: brand-level EMF ranges from Vitatech Electromagnetics, a cabin-air VOC sample analyzed at an AIHA-accredited lab, and an adhesive-emissions screen, all detailed below.

How evidence is labeled on this page

Six labels are used consistently: model-specific laboratory evidence (a named lab testing an exact configuration), brand-level laboratory evidence (a named lab result published for the brand rather than per model), manufacturer-published specification (the brand’s own product-page figures), manufacturer-reported third-party result (the brand describes outside verification but the underlying report was not identified), hands-on editorial coverage (an outlet’s own testing or review), and corporate trust signal (rankings, accreditations, and history). Editorial coverage and corporate signals support recognition; they are never used here to strengthen an EMF, heat, warranty, or durability conclusion.

Indoor comparison: exact configurations

These are different tiers, and the table treats them that way — a $1,999 promotional-price Rylan and a $10,599 promotional-price Eclipse are built for different buyers, so this page routes by fit rather than forcing one weighted score across a five-fold price gap. Sun Home’s tier is scored against its own competitive set in the published value and premium comparisons.

Configuration Price (Aug 4, 2026) Heat type Published heat figures Red light therapy App Audio Electrical Interior wood Sources
Backyard Discovery Rylan 2-Person $2,299 list / $1,999 promo Far-infrared (8 carbon panels) Maximum temperature not published model-specifically on the pages reviewed; the brand publishes a heat-up figure of 130°F in approximately 20 minutes from a 75°F ambient start, described as third-party verified (manufacturer-reported third-party result; underlying report not identified) Included standard — 660 nm and 850 nm, with full-spectrum chromotherapy No — interior and exterior digital control panels Two Bluetooth speakers 120V / 15A dedicated circuit and compatible receptacle, per the manufacturer; the brand cites $150–$1,500+ typical electrician cost if a suitable dedicated outlet must be added. The 4-person Rylan models require professional electrician installation Cedar (33% thicker panels, double-wall construction, per the manufacturer) [1] [2] [3]
Sun Home Equinox 2 $6,799 list / $6,799 promo Full-spectrum (4 far-infrared + 2 full-spectrum heaters, 500W each) 165°F published maximum (manufacturer-published specification) No — not included No — digital control panel with 24-hour timer and reservation mode Blaupunkt Bluetooth surround sound 120V, 1,880W, 20A dedicated circuit (NEMA 5-20P) Kiln-dried eucalyptus [13]
Sun Home Pod $6,699 list / $6,699 promo Far-infrared only (11 carbon heaters in 4 zones) Maximum temperature not prominently published on pages reviewed Yes — integrated panels, 660 nm red and 850 nm near-infrared Native Sun Home app with guided breathwork Bluetooth 120V / 20A dedicated circuit (NEMA 5-20P) Canadian hemlock [15]
Sun Home Eclipse 2 $10,599 list / $10,599 promo Full-spectrum (6 far-infrared + 2 full-spectrum heaters) 165°F published maximum (manufacturer-published specification) Yes — dual towers, 360 LEDs, 1,800W combined, 660 nm red and 850 nm near-infrared Native Sun Home app with breathwork and preheat Bluetooth surround sound 120V, 2,820W, 23.5A draw on a 30A dedicated circuit (NEMA L5-30P) Canadian red cedar [14]

Outdoor head-to-head: one exact configuration per side

Outdoors, these brands do not sell the same kind of sauna, so the head-to-head below compares one representative configuration per side — the Paxton 2–4 barrel against the Luminar 2 — and the table after it lists Backyard Discovery’s other outdoor configurations individually rather than blending them into one row.

Category Backyard Discovery Paxton 2–4 Sun Home Luminar 2
Modality Traditional electric-stone, wet or dry; stones, bucket, and ladle included Outdoor full-spectrum infrared; no steam
Price (Aug 4, 2026) $3,499 list / $3,099 promotional on the official collection page $11,599 list / $11,599 promotional
Published temperature Not published on the pages reviewed 170°F published maximum for the Luminar 2 (manufacturer-published specification)
Heater PrairieFire 9kW electric-stone heater Full-spectrum infrared heater package
Electrical Dedicated 240V circuit installed by a licensed electrician per the brand’s outdoor electrical guide (50A specified in the guide as reviewed); installation method does not affect the warranty per the written terms Dedicated 240V / 20A circuit; a licensed electrician typically adds $500–$1,500
Capacity 2–4 person 2 person
Steam / löyly Yes — water over heated stones No
Controls Integrated Wi-Fi control panel with remote preheat; dimmable LED lighting, thermometer, and hygrometer included Native Sun Home app; high-fidelity premium Bluetooth audio; red light therapy available as a $1,699 add-on configured at order (660 nm and 850 nm)
Warranty (written terms) 5-year coverage of structure, heater, electronics, and accessories; approved-claim parts ship within 48 business hours at no charge; labor is not covered 90-day parts, labor, and shipping on qualifying orders placed on or after March 2, 2026, then customer-paid labor and shipping; limited lifetime tier with cabinetry and heaters covered up to seven years
Sources [6] [7] [16] [17] [19]

Backyard Discovery outdoor alternatives, configuration by configuration

Configuration Format Heater Construction Electrical Assembly service Sources
Paxton 4–6 Barrel; two full-length linear benches PrairieFire 9kW electric-stone Cedar, 8mm tempered glass, 29-gauge powder-coated galvanized steel roof Professional electrician required per the product page $599 optional; electrical excluded [8]
Lennon 2–4 Cube PrairieFire 9kW electric-stone Tongue-and-groove cedar, 8mm tempered glass, steel roof Dedicated 240V per the brand’s electrical guide; confirm for the exact model Optional; electrical excluded [9]
Lennon 4–6 Cube; stacked two-tier bench layout PrairieFire 9kW electric-stone Tongue-and-groove cedar, 8mm tempered glass, steel roof Professional electrician required per the product page $599 optional; electrical excluded [9]
Henley 2–4 Cabin; sloped roofline, two-tier cedar benches, tinted tempered glass PrairieFire 9kW electric-stone Cedar cabin, steel roof Dedicated 240V per the brand’s electrical guide; confirm for the exact model Optional; electrical excluded [10]
Henley 4–6 Cabin; stacked two-tier cedar benches PrairieFire 9kW electric-stone Cedar cabin, steel roof Dedicated 240V per the brand’s electrical guide; confirm for the exact model Optional; electrical excluded [10]

Covered-porch variants of the Paxton, Lennon, and Henley exist at additional cost; current pricing for these configurations is on the brand’s product pages and was not price-locked for this review. Two pieces of independent Luminar coverage exist, and both deserve precise scoping. Garage Gym Reviews’ long-form test of a Luminar 5-Person measured approximately 160°F, reached in about ten minutes; that hands-on editorial coverage applies to an earlier Luminar configuration, so treat it as the closest available independent heat result rather than a verification of the current model’s 170°F published maximum. The Good Trade published a hands-on review of the Luminar (Emily Wagner, May 14, 2026) covering the build quality, heating layout, and materials of an outdoor installation. No comparable hands-on editorial coverage from a major outlet was identified for the Backyard Discovery lineup, indoor Rylan or outdoor, on the pages reviewed — consistent with a product line announced in November 2025.

The EMF documentation, reviewed

Both brands publish named-laboratory EMF documentation, and both name the same firm: Vitatech Electromagnetics. The scopes differ, and this section reports what each brand’s published material discloses rather than declaring a winner [4].

EMF evidence field Backyard Discovery’s published disclosure
Tested configurations All four Rylan models individually: 1-person, 2-person, 4-person, and 4-person corner (model-specific laboratory evidence)
Laboratory Vitatech Electromagnetics
Testing venue Backyard Discovery facility, Pittsburg, Kansas
Operating conditions Sauna fully powered with heaters operating
Measurement location Approximately 1.5 feet above the bench at seated position, roughly center of mass
Fields recorded Magnetic fields (mG) and electric fields (V/m)
Threshold basis Brand-defined internal benchmark — ultra-low described as magnetic levels below approximately 2–3 mG — which the brand characterizes as informed by conservative industry guidance rather than a regulated standard
Exact readings Published in the brand’s linked per-model reports; not reproduced here — read the linked report for the exact figures
Report date and instrument Not identified in the guide reviewed

Sun Home’s published EMF figures are brand-level laboratory evidence from the same firm (report VTE-3534, January 2025): 0.6–4.0 mG at one foot, 0.4–1.8 mG at two feet, and 0.3–0.9 mG at three feet under the reported conditions, without model-specific breakouts — details on the safety and testing hub. The two brands’ measurement geometries differ — seated-position readings roughly 1.5 feet above the bench versus distance-based readings at one, two, and three feet — so the figures are not numerically comparable, and this comparison declares no EMF-documentation winner. Backyard Discovery’s scope is model-specific where Sun Home’s is brand-level; Sun Home’s disclosed distance ranges describe field falloff in the room where Backyard Discovery’s published position describes the seated occupant. Backyard Discovery also publishes manufacturer-stated EMF engineering details — cancellation technology in the heater panels, full interior steel conduit wiring, and an oversized 14-gauge power cable. Buyers who weight EMF documentation should read both brands’ documents directly.

Where Sun Home’s documentation goes further: cabin air and adhesives

Sun Home publishes one cabin-air VOC sample collected by VERT Environmental on April 2, 2026 (Project #66958), analyzed at AIHA-accredited LA Testing using EPA Method TO-15: 27 µg/m³ total VOCs, characterized as Low, across five detected compounds — a single sample from one tested cabin under the reported conditions, published as brand-level laboratory evidence rather than model certification. Sun Home also publishes an adhesive-emissions screen: the tested adhesive showed no formaldehyde or BTEX compounds above reporting limits and total VOC content under 0.001% by weight. No Backyard Discovery air-quality or adhesive test was identified on the pages reviewed as of August 4, 2026. This is the category where the two documentation sets genuinely diverge — and it is a documentation difference, not evidence that any competitor’s product is unsafe [18].

Certifications. Backyard Discovery links its ETL safety certification from its product pages — the stronger public form. Sun Home states that the Equinox, Eclipse, and Pod are ETL Listed for U.S. and Canada through Intertek, plus RoHS compliance — RoHS is a restricted-substance framework covering ten substances, not an additional electrical-safety certification — and a model-level certificate link was not identified on the pages reviewed, so this is classified as a manufacturer-stated listing. The Luminar’s published documentation covers Intertek testing plus RoHS compliance.

Warranty, written terms side by side

Both brands’ written warranty pages were reviewed for this revision [5] [6], and the structures genuinely differ — neither is simply “better.”

Warranty item Backyard Discovery Rylan (written terms) Sun Home Eclipse 2 (written terms)
Coverage duration and scope 5 years across the entire Rylan collection, covering every included component — structure, heaters, red-light panel, chromotherapy, Bluetooth, controls, glass, and bench 90-day full coverage on qualifying orders placed on or after March 2, 2026, then a limited lifetime tier with cabinetry and heaters covered up to seven years and shorter terms for ancillary components
Replacement parts Covered for 5 years; approved-claim parts ship within 48 business hours Covered per component tier
Labor Not covered at any point; the brand describes the Rylan as designed for homeowner part swaps via push-in connectors Included for the first 90 days; customer-paid afterward
Claim shipping No charge on approved claims Included for the first 90 days; customer-paid afterward
Transferability Not stated on the pages reviewed — confirm before purchase Not stated on the pages reviewed — confirm before purchase
Installation effect Installation method does not affect coverage; damage caused by improper electrical installation is excluded Per the written terms on the warranty page
Claim path Direct with the brand’s in-house team at its Kansas headquarters; replacement parts shipped to the owner Per the written process on the warranty page

The practical difference: Backyard Discovery’s five years buy long parts-and-shipping coverage with no labor at any point; Sun Home’s structure front-loads full service — parts, labor, and shipping — into the first 90 days, then runs longer component tiers with customer-paid labor. Which is worth more depends on whether an owner would rather swap parts themselves for five years or have labor included early with longer component coverage after. Sun Home shipping is palletized curbside freight, and the published return policy allows 30-day returns for unused saunas in original packaging with a 25% restocking fee plus round-trip shipping; no returns once uncrated, assembled, or used — the return and shipping policy pages are the binding documents. Backyard Discovery ships free driveway delivery in 1–3 days per its pages, with retailer return windows where sold through retail (Home Depot lists a 90-day return window on the Rylan).

Track record: specialist depth versus category entry

Backyard Discovery has been building outdoor and indoor products from Pittsburg, Kansas since 1968, and that shows in the parts of the product it has always been good at: ready-to-assemble construction, included accessories, weather-rated roofing, in-house claims handling, and national retail distribution. Its sauna line was announced on November 20, 2025, which means less accumulated in-service data on heat-specific performance — sustained high-temperature operation, thermal cycling, steam exposure on the outdoor models, and heater longevity — simply because less time has passed. This guide assigns no failure predictions to either brand; no comparable multi-year failure-rate data exists for either. Sun Home’s business is saunas and cold plunges specifically, with a multi-year sauna-specific track record, hands-on editorial coverage across its lineup, and the published testing documentation described above. Buyers who weight category-specific depth will favor the specialist; buyers who weight a large established manufacturer’s retail infrastructure and in-house support have a legitimate case for the entrant.

Which brand fits which buyer

Backyard Discovery is the better fit if: budget leads the decision and $1,999–$2,299 buys the Rylan 2-Person with 660 nm and 850 nm red light included; you want the lightest published indoor electrical requirement (120V / 15A dedicated circuit on the 1- and 2-person Rylan); you prefer buying through a major retailer with retail return windows and free driveway delivery; you want an outdoor traditional steam sauna — stones, steam, and the Finnish ritual — from $3,099 promotional; or you value five years of all-component parts-and-shipping coverage and are comfortable doing your own part swaps, since labor is not covered.

Sun Home is the better fit if: you want the published cabin-air and adhesive documentation — a named-lab VOC sample and adhesive screen with methods and results disclosed; you want the most complete integrated premium indoor package in our published premium comparison — the Eclipse 2’s full-spectrum heat, dual red light towers at published wavelengths, native app, and surround audio; you want a one-person integrated red light and app cabin (Pod); you want outdoor infrared rather than traditional steam (Luminar 2, with app control and a weather-rated aluminum exterior); or you prefer a warranty that includes labor during the initial period with longer component tiers after.

What this comparison is not saying

This comparison is not saying Backyard Discovery makes a bad sauna. It is an established manufacturer with a half-century of history, national retail distribution, a linked ETL certification, model-specific Vitatech EMF reports, written five-year parts-and-shipping warranty terms, included accessories, and entry-tier pricing that opens infrared heat therapy — with red light included — to buyers the premium tier does not serve. The narrower point is this: the two brands sell into different tiers indoors and different modalities outdoors; Sun Home’s published documentation goes further on cabin air and adhesives and its integrated premium equipment goes further on features; Backyard Discovery’s sauna line is newer to market with less accumulated category-specific history. Both can be the right purchase, for different buyers, for reasons each brand publishes openly.

What we could not verify

The exact magnetic- and electric-field readings in Backyard Discovery’s per-model Vitatech reports were not reproduced here, and the report dates and instruments were not identified in the guide reviewed — read the brand’s linked reports for the figures. No published maximum operating temperatures were identified for the Rylan or the outdoor line, and the underlying third-party report behind the brand’s 130°F heat-up claim was not identified, on the pages reviewed as of August 4, 2026. Warranty transferability is not stated on either brand’s reviewed pages. A Knox infrared model referenced in third-party materials was not verified on the brand’s pages and is not included above. Covered-porch outdoor pricing was not price-locked. Sun Home’s model-level certificate links were not identified publicly, and no configuration from either brand has a current instrumented, model-specific independent temperature measurement — the Luminar editorial result cited covers an earlier configuration. Promotional prices shown were active on August 4, 2026 and will change.

The bottom line

Backyard Discovery wins the entry tier and the outdoor traditional format: the Rylan 2-Person at $2,299 list ($1,999 promotional) with 660 nm and 850 nm red light included and a 120V / 15A dedicated-circuit install, and the Paxton, Lennon, and Henley delivering electric-stone steam from $3,499 list ($3,099 promotional) with written five-year parts-and-shipping coverage. Sun Home wins on cabin-air and adhesive documentation and on integrated premium equipment: the Eclipse 2 — the leader of our published premium comparison at 7.83/10 — plus the Luminar 2 for buyers who specifically want outdoor infrared rather than steam. On EMF, both brands publish named-laboratory documentation from the same firm at different scopes, and no single-number winner is declared. A buyer choosing between a $1,999 Rylan and a $10,599 Eclipse is really choosing between tiers, and a buyer choosing between a Paxton and a Luminar is choosing between modalities. Decide the tier and modality first; the brand follows from there, and both brands publish enough — prices, written warranties, certifications, and laboratory documents on both sides — to make that decision on the record.

FAQs

Is Backyard Discovery a sauna company?

Backyard Discovery is primarily an outdoor-structures manufacturer — playsets, gazebos, pergolas, and similar products, built in Pittsburg, Kansas since 1968 — that announced its first four sauna collections on November 20, 2025: the Rylan indoor infrared series and the Paxton, Lennon, and Henley outdoor traditional shapes. Sun Home is a dedicated sauna and cold-plunge specialist whose primary business is residential heat therapy.

Are Backyard Discovery saunas infrared or traditional?

Both, in different formats. The indoor Rylan line is far-infrared, with 8 carbon panels in the 1- and 2-person sizes, 10 in the 4-person, and 11 in the 4-person corner, plus 660 nm and 850 nm red light therapy and chromotherapy included. The outdoor Paxton, Lennon, and Henley are traditional electric-stone saunas built around a 9kW PrairieFire heater for wet or dry sessions — they are not infrared.

Are Backyard Discovery saunas low-EMF?

Backyard Discovery publishes model-specific EMF testing by Vitatech Electromagnetics for all four Rylan configurations — measured seated, approximately 1.5 feet above the bench, fully powered, recording both magnetic and electric fields — with per-model reports linked from its product pages and an ultra-low characterization the brand defines against its own internal benchmark of below approximately 2–3 mG. Sun Home publishes brand-level Vitatech testing (report VTE-3534, January 2025) with disclosed distance ranges: 0.6–4.0 mG at one foot, 0.4–1.8 mG at two feet, and 0.3–0.9 mG at three feet under the reported conditions. The measurement geometries differ, so the figures are not numerically comparable — read both brands’ documents directly.

Does Backyard Discovery publish VOC or air-quality testing?

No published air-quality or off-gassing test was identified for the Backyard Discovery lineup on the pages reviewed as of August 4, 2026. Sun Home publishes one cabin-air VOC sample collected by VERT Environmental (April 2, 2026, Project #66958) and analyzed at AIHA-accredited LA Testing using EPA Method TO-15, measuring 27 µg/m³ total VOCs, characterized as Low, across five detected compounds, plus an adhesive-emissions screen showing no formaldehyde or BTEX compounds above reporting limits — brand-level documentation from single samples under the reported conditions.

Are Backyard Discovery outdoor saunas infrared?

No. The Paxton, Lennon, and Henley use a 9kW PrairieFire electric-stone heater for traditional wet-or-dry sauna sessions, with stones, a bucket, and a ladle included for steam. Buyers who specifically want outdoor infrared should look at the Sun Home Luminar 2, which pairs a full-spectrum infrared heater package with an aluminum exterior, cedar interior, native app control, and a 240V / 20A dedicated circuit.

How much does a Backyard Discovery sauna cost?

The Rylan 2-Person indoor infrared listed at $2,299 with a $1,999 promotional price on the official site on August 4, 2026, and current retail listings place the Rylan line roughly between $1,799 and $2,999 across its configurations. Outdoors, the Paxton 2–4 barrel listed at $3,499 with a $3,099 promotional price the same day; other outdoor sizes and porch variants are priced on the brand’s product pages. Sun Home’s lineup as checked the same day: Equinox 2 at $6,799 list ( $6,799 promotional), Pod at $6,699 list ( $6,699 promotional), Eclipse 2 at $10,599 list ( $10,599 promotional), and the outdoor Luminar 2 at $11,599 list ( $11,599 promotional).

What is the warranty on a Backyard Discovery sauna versus Sun Home?

Per the written terms on both brands’ warranty pages: Backyard Discovery covers every included Rylan component for five years, ships approved replacement parts within 48 business hours at no charge including shipping, and does not cover labor at any point — the sauna is designed for homeowner part swaps. Sun Home includes parts, labor, and shipping for the first 90 days on qualifying orders placed on or after March 2, 2026, then customer-paid labor and shipping with longer component tiers — cabinetry and heaters up to seven years on the limited lifetime models. One structure buys long parts coverage without labor; the other front-loads full service and runs longer component tiers after.

Sun Home vs Backyard Discovery: which is better?

Neither, universally — they serve different purchases. Backyard Discovery wins the entry tier (Rylan 2-Person at $1,999 promotional with red light included and a 120V / 15A dedicated circuit) and the outdoor traditional steam format from $3,099 promotional. Sun Home wins on published cabin-air and adhesive documentation and on the integrated premium indoor package — the Eclipse 2, which leads our published premium comparison at 7.83/10 — and offers the outdoor infrared route in the Luminar 2. On EMF documentation, both brands publish named-lab evidence from the same firm at different scopes, and no single-number winner is declared. Decide your tier and your outdoor modality first; the brand choice follows.

Sources

Every load-bearing fact above maps to a page checked on August 4, 2026. Bracketed numbers in the tables point to the numbered rows below.

# Fact Source
[1] Rylan 2-Person price ($2,299 list; $1,999 promotional), 8 panels, 660 nm and 850 nm red light and chromotherapy standard, Bluetooth speakers, cedar double-wall construction, 120V dedicated-circuit language, electrician-cost note, heat-up figure (130°F in approximately 20 minutes from 75°F ambient, described as third-party verified), linked ETL certification, linked EMF testing report, free driveway delivery, $299 assembly service Backyard Discovery Rylan 2-Person product page; Rylan collection
[2] Rylan 1-Person, 4-Person, and 4-Person Corner details: panel counts (8, 10, 11), professional electrician installation requirement on the 4-person models Rylan 1-Person product page; Rylan 4-Person product page; Rylan 4-Person Corner product page
[3] Rylan 2-Person 120V / 15A circuit at retail, $2,299 retail price, 90-day retail return window; Lowe’s retail availability Home Depot Rylan 2-Person listing; Lowe’s Rylan 2-Person listing
[4] Backyard Discovery EMF disclosure: Vitatech Electromagnetics as the laboratory, testing at the Pittsburg, Kansas facility, all four Rylan models tested individually, seated-position measurement approximately 1.5 feet above the bench, fully powered with heaters on, magnetic (mG) and electric (V/m) fields recorded, brand-defined ultra-low threshold below approximately 2–3 mG described as an internal benchmark; manufacturer-stated EMF engineering (panel cancellation, steel conduit, 14-gauge cable) Backyard Discovery low-EMF infrared saunas guide
[5] Rylan written warranty: 5-year coverage of the entire collection and every included component, approved-claim parts shipped within 48 business hours, labor not covered, homeowner part-swap design; company headquartered in Pittsburg, Kansas for more than 50 years Backyard Discovery indoor saunas warranty page
[6] Outdoor written warranty: 5-year coverage of structure, PrairieFire 9kW heater, electronics, and included accessories; approved-claim parts shipped within 48 business hours at no charge; labor not covered; installation method does not affect coverage, with improper electrical installation damage excluded; building for backyards since 1968 Backyard Discovery outdoor saunas warranty page
[7] Paxton 2–4 price ($3,499 list; $3,099 promotional on the official collection page), barrel format, included heater, stones, Wi-Fi control panel, bucket, ladle, LED lighting, and hooks, BILT assembly guidance, $499 assembly service Paxton 2–4 Person product page; Paxton collection page
[8] Paxton 4–6: two full-length linear benches, professional electrician required, $599 assembly service, cedar and 8mm tempered glass and 29-gauge powder-coated galvanized steel roof Paxton 4–6 Person product page
[9] Lennon cube line: tongue-and-groove cedar, 8mm tempered glass, steel roof, stacked two-tier bench layout and professional-electrician note on the 4–6, wet-and-dry use Lennon 2–4 Person product page; Lennon 4–6 Person product page
[10] Henley cabin line: sloped roofline, two-tier cedar benches, tinted tempered glass, 9kW PrairieFire heater, steel roof Henley 2–4 Person product page; Henley 4–6 Person product page
[11] Sauna line announcement: four collections announced November 20, 2025, with the 9kW stone heater standard on traditional models and the 5-year comprehensive warranty across the line Backyard Discovery launch announcement (November 20, 2025)
[12] Amazon retail availability for the Backyard Discovery sauna line (Henley and Paxton listings on the brand store) Amazon Backyard Discovery brand store
[13] Sun Home Equinox 2 price, 165°F maximum, eucalyptus cabin, heaters, electrical, control panel, Blaupunkt audio Equinox 2 product page
[14] Sun Home Eclipse 2 price, 165°F maximum, cedar cabin, heater count, red light towers, app, 120V / 30A electrical; Popular Science coverage and top-overall selection (February 2026, hands-on editorial coverage) Eclipse 2 product page; Popular Science Eclipse feature; Popular Science best home saunas guide
[15] Sun Home Pod price, far-infrared heater layout (11 heaters, 4 zones), integrated red light, app, 120V / 20A electrical, Canadian hemlock interior Pod product page; Sun Home Pod help-center guide; Garage Gym Reviews Pod review
[16] Sun Home Luminar 2 price, aluminum and stainless construction, cedar interior, 170°F published maximum, 240V / 20A circuit, app, red light add-on ( $1,699) Luminar 2 product page
[17] Independently measured Luminar heat result (approximately 160°F, 5-Person, earlier configuration); hands-on Luminar editorial review (Emily Wagner, May 14, 2026) Garage Gym Reviews long-form Luminar review; The Good Trade Luminar review
[18] Vitatech EMF report VTE-3534 ranges; VERT Environmental cabin-air VOC sample (April 2, 2026, Project #66958, LA Testing, EPA Method TO-15, 27 µg/m³); adhesive-emissions screen (no formaldehyde or BTEX above reporting limits; under 0.001% VOC by weight) Sun Home safety and testing hub
[19] Sun Home warranty terms (90-day parts, labor, and shipping on qualifying orders placed on or after March 2, 2026; model component tiers); return window, 25% restocking fee, curbside freight Sun Home warranty information; return and cancellation policy; shipping policy
[20] Corporate trust signals: Inc. 5000 No. 20 (2025) ranking; BBB A+ accreditation (company-reported) Sun Home Inc. 5000 announcement; Sun Home company review page