Best Clearlight Alternative by Buyer Type (2026)
The best Clearlight alternative depends on the exact model you are cross-shopping and the reason you are leaving. There is no single replacement, and for two of the most common reasons buyers shop alternatives — warranty labor and red light documentation — the current governing documents say Clearlight itself is the stronger choice.
Here is the short routing, with each answer's limitation attached:
-
Two-person full-spectrum indoor cabin on a household circuit: compare the Clearlight Sanctuary 2 against the Sun Home Equinox 2 (
$6,099
$6,799). Equinox leads on a higher published maximum, an exact-model editorial heat observation, and fixed online pricing. Sanctuary leads on a larger published bench, app plus onboard keypad, broader indoor component coverage, and seven years of labor. -
Red and near-infrared light: compare the Sun Home Eclipse 2 (
$9,999
$10,599) against Sanctuary 2 plus the Clearlight CORE Tower ($1,599). Eclipse leads on factory integration and preserved floor space. CORE leads on published irradiance, optical geometry, dose guidance, and a dedicated five-year device warranty. Neither has independent optical testing, so the higher-dose system cannot be determined. - Warranty labor: Clearlight publishes seven years of labor on the indoor residential cabin and factory-installed components. Sun Home publishes 90 days of no-cost labor and shipping on Eclipse, Pod, and Luminar, after which both become customer-paid. On this profile, Clearlight wins.
-
Outdoor placement without a warranty cover condition: the Sun Home Luminar 2 (
$10,999
$11,599), which uses an aluminium exterior and does not condition coverage on continuous cover use. No exact-model third-party measurement of the Luminar 2 was identified. - Published dual wavelengths at lower cost: the LIT Method BeautyBox ($5,499), a two-person cabin publishing 660 nm and 850 nm on a standard 120V/20A outlet.
- Budget entry: the Dynamic Barcelona ($3,499 MSRP), which plugs into a standard 120V/15A outlet.
Disclosure: Sun Home Saunas publishes this article and manufactures several products discussed. Missing Sun Home evidence receives the same treatment as missing competitor evidence. Of the profiles scored below, Sun Home models win two.
Inclusion Rule, Comparison Set, and Evidence Status
Inclusion rule. Models were included if they are currently sold in the United States for residential use, are plausible cross-shops for a Clearlight Sanctuary buyer, and have specifications verifiable against a live manufacturer page on August 5, 2026.
| Model | Role in this comparison |
|---|---|
| Clearlight Sanctuary 2 | The reference model most Clearlight shoppers are cross-shopping |
| Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor 2 | Outdoor reference |
| Clearlight CORE Tower | Clearlight's current red light product, scored as a configured accessory |
| Sun Home Equinox 2 | Indoor full-spectrum on a 120V/20A circuit |
| Sun Home Eclipse 2 | Factory-integrated red/NIR |
| Sun Home Luminar 2 | Outdoor, compact |
| Sun Home Pod | Compact solo |
| LIT Method BeautyBox | Lower-cost two-person cabin with published dual wavelengths |
| Dynamic Barcelona | Budget reference |
Evidence status. Three statuses are used in every scorecard. A number means current exact-model evidence was located. A 0 means the defined sources below were searched and the field was not found. NR means research is incomplete and no total is published for that model in that profile.
Sources searched for every model: the manufacturer's exact product page, published schematic or spec sheet, installation or owner's manual, governing warranty document, and safety or testing page where one exists; plus a search for independent third-party measurement by a laboratory or consumer publication. A zero means those were checked and the field was absent.
Why profile-specific scorecards. One universal score would hide the fact that different buyers are optimising for different things, and would let strength in one area paper over absence in another. Each profile below has its own weights, published before the results.
Buyer-Profile Outcomes at a Glance
| Buyer priority | Best-supported current answer | Critical qualification |
|---|---|---|
| Strongest exact-model observed indoor heat evidence | Sun Home Equinox 2 | Editorial observation without a published sensor protocol |
| Strongest published warranty labor term | Clearlight Sanctuary (indoor residential) | Labor is covered; automatic in-home dispatch is not established by that fact alone |
| Best published red-light optical documentation | Clearlight Sanctuary 2 + CORE Tower | Accessory configuration; changes the sauna's electrical requirements |
| Best factory-integrated red/NIR hardware | Sun Home Eclipse 2 | Irradiance, beam angle, treatment area, and dose are not published |
| Highest optical dose | Not established | No independent optical verification exists for any system here |
| Outdoor without a warranty cover condition | Sun Home Luminar 2 | No cover condition does not mean maintenance-free; no exact-model third-party measurement identified |
| Moderate-temperature sessions with a larger bench | Clearlight Sanctuary 2 | No exact-model independent maximum identified |
| Published dual wavelengths at lower cost | LIT Method BeautyBox | No irradiance published; warranty terms stated inconsistently on the same page |
| Lowest entry cost on a standard outlet | Dynamic Barcelona | No named-lab testing; parts-only warranty with labor excluded |
| Compact solo footprint with app control | Sun Home Pod | Integrated but optically undocumented red light feature |
| Highest manufacturer-stated maximum | Luminar 2 and Luminar 5 at 170°F | A manufacturer figure is not a measurement; treat as a specification, not evidence |
| Clinical-research history | Clearlight | UCSF work used the Curve dome, not the Sanctuary cabin |
| Fixed public pricing | Sun Home, LIT Method, Golden Designs | A transparency advantage. It does not prove a dollar saving against a current Clearlight quote |
Profile 1 — Indoor Heat Performance
This profile scores evidence about heat, not desirability of heat. A cabin designed for moderate temperatures is not failing this profile by design; it is simply not the subject of it.
| Category | Weight | Thresholds |
|---|---|---|
| Exact-model independent measurement | 30 | 30 = instrumented measurement with published protocol; 18 = independent hands-on observation of the exact model without protocol; 9 = observation of a different model in the same family; 0 = none |
| Test protocol completeness | 20 | 20 = sensor, calibration, placement, and ambient published; 8 = a stated figure without protocol; 0 = none |
| Time to target | 15 | 15 = published time at a stated starting ambient; 9 = third-party observation with a time figure; 5 = manufacturer preheat figure without ambient; 0 = none |
| Sustained temperature | 15 | 15 = published hold tolerance over a stated duration; 0 = none |
| Electrical burden | 10 | Standard 120V/15A = 10; dedicated 120V/20A = 8; dedicated 120V/30A = 5; dedicated 240V/20A = 4; dedicated 240V/30A = 3 |
| Configured cost | 10 | ≤$4,000 = 10; ≤$6,000 = 8; ≤$7,500 = 6; ≤$9,000 = 5; ≤$11,500 = 3; ≤$14,000 = 2 |
| Model | Measurement (30) | Protocol (20) | Time to target (15) | Sustained (15) | Electrical (10) | Cost (10) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sun Home Equinox 2 | 18 | 8 | 9 | 0 | 8 | 6 | 49 / 100 |
| LIT Method BeautyBox | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 8 | 8 | 21 / 100 |
| Dynamic Barcelona | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 10 | 20 / 100 |
| Sun Home Eclipse 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 3 | 8 / 100 |
| Sun Home Luminar 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 2 | 6 / 100 |
| Clearlight Sanctuary 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8 | NR | NR (8 / 90 excluding cost) |
Winner: Sun Home Equinox 2, at 49 out of 100. Garage Gym Reviews reviewed the exact model hands-on, named it their best overall infrared sauna, and reported a 165°F maximum setting with the cabin heating in about ten minutes. That is meaningfully better than an unverified manufacturer claim and meaningfully weaker than an instrumented measurement — no sensor, calibration, placement, or ambient protocol was published.
The ceiling is the more important finding. No model reaches 50 out of 100. Every model scored zero on sustained temperature, and only one has any exact-model independent measurement at all. Clearlight's configured cost is NR because Sanctuary pricing now runs through a quote request rather than a published price.
A correction. Earlier versions of this article said the Luminar 2 was independently verified by Garage Gym Reviews at 165–170°F. The Garage Gym Reviews outdoor testing concerns the five-person Luminar, which reported approximately 160°F in about ten minutes on its review unit. Different cabin, different heater count, different capacity. That evidence does not transfer to the Luminar 2, and it is scored as zero for the Luminar 2 here.
Profile 2 — Red and Near-Infrared Light
This is the profile where the previous version of this article was most wrong. It gave Sun Home a blanket red-light win based on integration and hardware scale, while describing Clearlight's system as optically undocumented. The current CORE Tower publishes more optical data than any Sun Home system does.
| Category | Weight |
|---|---|
| Irradiance at defined distances | 20 |
| Treatment area and geometry | 15 |
| Wavelength disclosure | 10 |
| Dose guidance | 10 |
| Independent optical verification | 15 |
| Integration and space impact | 10 |
| Component warranty, labor, and freight | 10 |
| Configured cost and electrical burden | 10 |
| Model | Irradiance (20) | Geometry (15) | Wavelength (10) | Dose (10) | Independent (15) | Integration (10) | Warranty (10) | Cost/electrical (10) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sanctuary 2 + CORE Tower | 16 | 9 | 10 | 8 | 0 | 5 | 6 | 5 | 59 / 100 |
| LIT Method BeautyBox | 0 | 3 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 3 | 8 | 31 / 100 |
| Sun Home Eclipse 2 | 0 | 5 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 3 | 4 | 27 / 100 |
| Sun Home Pod | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 3 | 7 | 20 / 100 |
| Dynamic Barcelona | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 1 | 9 | 16 / 100 |
Winner on optical documentation: Clearlight Sanctuary 2 plus CORE Tower, at 59 out of 100 — more than double the Eclipse 2. The CORE Tower publishes 650 nm and 850 nm, approximately 55–110 mW/cm² at four inches, a 200W rating, Variable Optics using a 7-to-60-degree mix, and session duration guidance by distance, at $1,599 with sauna mounting hardware included and a five-year device warranty. It is FDA Registered and made in the USA.
Winner on integration: Sun Home Eclipse 2. It publishes 360 LEDs across two front-mounted panels carrying a 900W rating each at 650 nm and 850 nm peaks, factory-installed with no separate purchase, no floor space consumed, and no electrical conversion beyond the cabin's own requirement. What it does not publish is irradiance, beam angle, treatment area, or dosing guidance.
Neither is the higher-dose system, because no one knows. No independent optical verification exists for any product here. Integration and optical documentation are different advantages, and this article no longer combines them into a single "best red light" category.
Two wording corrections
Earlier versions described the Eclipse panels as "1,800W combined" in a way that reads as optical output. Sun Home publishes two panels with a 900W rating each. Current documentation does not establish whether that figure represents nominal LED-chip capacity, actual electrical input, maximum driver capacity, or emitted optical power — nor how it relates to the cabin's 2,820W total on a 23.5A draw during simultaneous operation.
Earlier versions also used 660 nm for both the Eclipse and the Pod. The Eclipse product-page specification publishes 650 nm and 850 nm; Sun Home's collection pages state the same system two other ways, which is a documentation defect scored against the Eclipse above. The Pod product page publishes no wavelength at all — the 660/850 figure appears only at brand level, and the Pod is scored accordingly.
Profile 3 — Warranty and Service
This is the profile the previous version of this article reversed. It said Clearlight includes no labor on any model and that Sun Home provides nationwide in-home technician service. Both statements were wrong.
| Category | Weight |
|---|---|
| Component durations | 20 |
| Labor duration | 20 |
| Freight responsibility | 15 |
| Technician-dispatch guarantee and geography | 15 |
| Parts availability and lead times | 10 |
| Transferability | 5 |
| Claim process and response commitments | 10 |
| Exclusions and outdoor conditions | 5 |
| Model | Components (20) | Labor (20) | Freight (15) | Dispatch (15) | Parts (10) | Transfer (5) | Process (10) | Exclusions (5) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clearlight Sanctuary 2 (indoor residential) | 18 | 16 | 5 | 7 | 3 | 0 | 8 | 3 | 60 / 100 |
| Sun Home Eclipse, Pod, Luminar | 13 | 3 | 3 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 7 | 3 | 37 / 100 |
| LIT Method BeautyBox | 10 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 2 | 16 / 100 |
| Dynamic Barcelona | 7 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 | 15 / 100 |
| Sun Home Equinox, Solstice | 11 | NR | NR | 0 | 8 | 0 | 7 | 3 | NR |
Winner: Clearlight, at 60 out of 100. The Sauna Works warranty table publishes lifetime coverage on the indoor residential cabin, controls, wiring, heaters, and audio, plus seven years of labor on both the cabin and factory-installed components in the USA and Canada. Outdoor residential and commercial saunas carry five years of labor.
| Field | Clearlight indoor residential | Sun Home Eclipse, Pod, Luminar |
|---|---|---|
| Cabin and factory-installed components | Limited lifetime | Limited lifetime on cabinetry and heaters, defined as up to seven years; 3 years controls; 1 year LED, glass, audio |
| Labor | 7 years | Included at no charge for 90 days |
| Freight | Confirm the full claim procedure in writing | Included at no charge for 90 days; customer-paid thereafter |
| Technician dispatch | Labor is covered; automatic in-home dispatch is not established by that fact alone | No blanket dispatch entitlement stated in the published warranty |
| Transferability | Terminates on transfer of ownership | Not transferable |
| Parts lead times | Not published | Specially sourced parts approximately 60–90 days; California parts availability commitment of at least seven years after last manufacture |
Neither brand should be described as guaranteeing automatic in-home technician dispatch unless its governing written terms expressly say so, and neither currently does. Ask both for the repair location, dispatch procedure, and freight obligation in writing before purchase.
Equinox and Solstice are scored NR because Sun Home's governing product section publishes the 7-year / 3-year / 1-year component schedule without clearly stating the labor and freight structure. That ambiguity is ours to fix, and until it is fixed, no total should be published for those models on this profile.
Profile 4 — Outdoor Placement
The genuine Clearlight trade-off outdoors is a condition, not a defect. Clearlight's outdoor warranty requires the sauna to be kept continually covered by the Sauna Works water-resistant cover, or housed under adequate shelter or in a weatherproof structure. The outdoor cabin shell carries five years rather than lifetime, though controls, wiring, heaters, and audio remain lifetime.
| Field | Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor 2 | Sun Home Luminar 2 |
|---|---|---|
| Exterior | Engineered wood with cedar interior | Aerospace-grade aluminium with Canadian red cedar interior |
| Electrical | 240V / 2,400W / 15A, NEMA 6-15p | 240V / 20A, NEMA L6-20P |
| Cover condition on warranty | Yes — continual cover or adequate shelter required | No cover condition published |
| Cabin shell warranty | 5 years; components lifetime | Limited lifetime on cabinetry and heaters, up to 7 years, plus 3 years on the exterior cabin |
| Manufacturer maximum | Optimal band published rather than a cabin maximum | 170°F |
| Independent exact-model measurement | None identified | None identified |
| Ongoing maintenance | Wood exterior generally benefits from periodic sealing | No staining or sealing cycle |
| Price | Quote-based |
$10,999 |
Winner for buyers whose objection is the cover condition: Sun Home Luminar 2. The distinction is real and it is narrow. "No cover condition" means the warranty does not require covering between sessions. It does not mean maintenance-free: any outdoor cabin still needs cleaning, seal and gasket inspection, and drainage management. And the Luminar 2 has no independent exact-model measurement behind its 170°F figure.
Profile 5 — Moderate-Temperature Sessions and Bench Size
Not every buyer leaving Clearlight wants more heat. Some are comparing cabins precisely because they want a longer, gentler session and a larger bench.
Winner: Clearlight Sanctuary 2. It publishes a 47" × 44" × 74" interior with a 47" × 22" bench — larger than the Eclipse 2's 42.8" × 42.2" × 71.5" interior and the LIT BeautyBox's roughly 38" × 32" × 74". It runs 120V / 2,250W / 18.75A on a NEMA 5-20p plug into a standard 20A outlet, with True Wave far-infrared heaters on the back wall, side walls, under the bench, at the calves, and in the floor, plus 500W full-spectrum heaters on the front wall. Cabins are kiln dried and air dried to 7% moisture content with each panel pressed. Controls include a digital keypad plus a tablet and smartphone app with a 36-hour reservation mode.
These are current exact-model specifications, not legacy-brand attributes, and they materially affect the Equinox-versus-Sanctuary decision.
Profile 6 — Cost and Price Transparency
Clearlight's Sanctuary product pages currently use a quote request rather than published pricing. That means no dollar-saving claim against a Sanctuary can be published here, and earlier versions of this article that claimed a specific Equinox saving were not reproducible.
| Model | Product price | Electrical allowance | Assembly | Configured total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dynamic Barcelona | $3,499 MSRP | $0 — standard 120V/15A outlet | $0 | ~$3,499 |
| LIT Method BeautyBox |
$6,099 |
~$250 — dedicated 20A if not present | $0 — tool-free | ~
$6,099 |
| Sun Home Equinox 2 |
$6,099 |
~$250 — dedicated 20A if not present | $0 — tool-free | ~
$6,599 |
| Sun Home Pod |
$6,599 |
~$250 | $0 | ~
$9,999 |
| Sun Home Eclipse 2 |
$9,999 |
~
$9,999 |
$0 | ~
$10,999 |
| Sun Home Luminar 2 | $11,099 | ~$1,000+ — 240V/20A outdoor run | Curbside; multi-person assembly | ~$12,099+ |
| Clearlight Sanctuary 2 | Quote-based | Standard 20A; conversion required if adding CORE | ~60–90 minutes, two people | NR |
| Clearlight CORE Tower | $1,599 with sauna mount | Electrical conversion required | Mounts in cabin | Add to Sanctuary quote |
To make a real comparison, request dated written quotes from Clearlight for the Sanctuary 2 in basswood and in mahogany, delivery and setup, the CORE Tower where relevant, the configured electrical conversion, and any required accessories — then compare against the figures above using identical cost fields.
The only defensible claim without that quote is a narrow one: Sun Home, LIT Method, and Golden Designs publish fixed prices a buyer can verify online, and Clearlight does not. That is a price-transparency advantage. It is not proof of a specific saving.
Profile 7 — Testing and Verification
Named-lab testing is a legitimate purchase consideration and a frequently over-claimed one. Here is what each brand's reports actually cover.
| Evidence | Clearlight | Sun Home | LIT Method | Golden Designs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EMF | Vitatech heater-level report; exact-model applicability not stated | Vitatech VTE-3534, Jan 2025 — representative distance ranges across 120V and 230V configurations: 0.6–4.0 mG at 1 ft, 0.4–1.8 mG at 2 ft, 0.3–0.9 mG at 3 ft | Manufacturer-stated 0.1–0.5 mG at bench seating; also stated 0.3–0.7 mG elsewhere on the same page; no lab named | 5–10 mG stated at 2–3 inches from panels; no lab named |
| Cabin-air VOC | No public exact-cabin report identified | One tested unit, Apr 2, 2026, VERT Project #66958, AIHA-accredited LA Testing, EPA TO-15, 27 µg/m³ TVOC; the published summary does not identify the model | Low-VOC materials claimed; no report identified | None identified |
| Adhesive composition | Not identified | Applied Technical Services #486424, Jun 2026 | Not identified | Not identified |
| Red-light irradiance | CORE Tower: ~55–110 mW/cm² at 4" | Not published for any model | Not published for the BeautyBox | Not published |
| Certifications | CORE Tower FDA Registered, US-made | ETL Listed for U.S. and Canada through Intertek, plus RoHS | Not identified | Not identified |
The important correction. Earlier versions of this article assigned Sun Home's 0.5 mG and 27 µg/m³ figures to every Sun Home model as though each had received an identical exact-model result. Neither report supports that. The EMF testing is representative across configurations, and 0.5 mG falls inside the three-foot range rather than being a universal seated-position reading. The VOC result came from one tested unit whose model the published summary does not identify. Both improve brand-level transparency. Neither is an exact-model result for the Equinox, Eclipse, Pod, or Luminar.
Temperature Evidence, by Class, for Both Brands
Temperature claims in this category collapse four different things into one number. Separating them is the single most useful thing a buyer can do.
| Evidence field | Clearlight Sanctuary 2 | Sun Home Equinox 2 | Sun Home Eclipse 2 | Sun Home Luminar 2 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manufacturer typical session range | ~100–125°F | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Recommended operating range | ~115–135°F | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Controller setpoint / stated maximum | Higher setpoint permitted, up to 158°F or 175°F by model; Clearlight states the cabin is not designed to reach the maximum setpoint | 165°F | 165°F | 170°F |
| Independent achieved maximum | None identified | 165°F maximum setting reported by GGR in a hands-on review | None identified | None identified |
| Time to target | None identified | ~10 minutes reported by GGR | None identified | None identified |
| Sustained temperature | None identified | None identified | None identified | None identified |
Clearlight deliberately targets lower cabin-air temperatures and says so in its own materials — infrared heats the body by direct radiant absorption rather than by heating air. That is a design position, not a measured ceiling, and no independent Sanctuary 2 maximum was identified either way.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best Clearlight alternative?
There isn't one — it depends on which model you're cross-shopping and why. For a two-person full-spectrum indoor cabin, compare the Sanctuary 2 against the Sun Home Equinox 2 at
$6,099 $6,799, which has the strongest exact-model heat evidence in this set. For red light, compare the Eclipse 2 against Sanctuary 2 plus the CORE Tower, and note that Clearlight's accessory publishes more optical data than any integrated system here. For outdoor placement without a cover condition, the Luminar 2. For published dual wavelengths at lower cost, the LIT Method BeautyBox at $5,499. And if your objection to Clearlight is warranty labor, an alternative may not help — Clearlight's published labor term is the longest in this comparison.
Does Clearlight include warranty labor?
Yes. The Sauna Works warranty table publishes seven years of labor on the indoor residential cabin and factory-installed components in the USA and Canada, and five years for outdoor residential and commercial. Sun Home's Eclipse, Pod, and Luminar include parts, labor, and shipping at no charge for the first 90 days, after which labor and shipping become customer-paid on covered claims. Earlier versions of this article said Clearlight includes no labor and that Sun Home provides nationwide in-home technician service. Both were wrong.
Which sauna has verified 170°F heat?
None in this comparison. 170°F is the manufacturer-stated maximum for the Luminar 2 and Luminar 5. Garage Gym Reviews measured approximately 160°F in about ten minutes on a Luminar 5 review unit, which is corroboration of high heat rather than verification of the ceiling — and that result belongs to the five-person cabin, not the two-person. The only exact-model independent heat observation in this set is the Equinox 2 at a 165°F maximum setting, reported hands-on without a published sensor protocol.
Does Clearlight publish red-light irradiance?
Yes. The current CORE Tower publishes approximately 55–110 mW/cm² at four inches, 650 nm and 850 nm wavelengths, a 200W rating, Variable Optics using a 7-to-60-degree mix, and session duration guidance by distance, with a five-year device warranty at $1,599 including sauna mounting hardware. Adding it changes the sauna's electrical requirements, and Clearlight publishes a conversion spec. The Sun Home Eclipse 2 publishes wavelengths, LED count, and panel ratings but no irradiance, beam angle, treatment area, or dosing guidance.
Is the Sun Home Equinox cheaper than a Clearlight Sanctuary 2?
The Equinox 2 has a published price of $6,099 and the Sanctuary 2 does not have a published price — Clearlight uses a quote request. That is a price-transparency difference, and it is not the same as a proven saving. To compare properly, get a dated written quote for the Sanctuary 2 in your chosen wood including delivery and setup, then compare it against
$6,599 $6,699 plus roughly $250 for a dedicated 20A circuit if your room lacks one.
Does the Sun Home Pod have 660 nm and 850 nm red light?
The Pod product page publishes no wavelengths, LED count, panel wattage, irradiance, treatment area, or dosing information. It confirms an integrated red light tower. Sun Home's collection page lists 660 + 850 nm, but that is a brand-level claim rather than a product-page specification, and this article does not treat it as verified. The Pod is a strong compact option for footprint and app control — not for documented optics.
What does Clearlight's UCSF research cover?
Clearlight's UCSF work used the Curve far-infrared sauna dome in whole-body hyperthermia protocols, including research combined with cognitive behavioural therapy. That is genuine brand-level research involvement and unusual in this category. It is not a Sanctuary trial and does not constitute exact-model clinical validation of the cabin lineup.
Which alternative should I pick if I want an outdoor sauna?
If your specific objection is Clearlight's warranty cover condition, the Sun Home Luminar 2 at $11,099 uses an aluminium exterior and publishes no cover requirement. Compare capacity, electrical service (240V/20A on a NEMA L6-20P), ongoing cleaning, and configured installation cost separately — and note that neither the Luminar 2 nor the Sanctuary Outdoor 2 has an independent exact-model temperature measurement.
Source Ledger and Research Log
| Claim area | Source | Date | Class |
|---|---|---|---|
| Clearlight warranty table: lifetime components, 7-year indoor labor, 5-year outdoor and commercial labor, cover condition, transferability | Sauna Works Limited Lifetime Warranty, published in the Clearlight owner's manual and warranty PDF | Verified Aug 5, 2026 | Manufacturer published terms |
| Sanctuary 2 electrical, heater layout, dimensions, bench, wood, glass, controls | Clearlight Sanctuary 2 schematic and product documentation; corroborated across authorised dealer listings | Verified Aug 5, 2026 | Manufacturer specification |
| 7% moisture content, pressed panels | Clearlight warranty page | Verified Aug 5, 2026 | Manufacturer specification |
| CORE Tower price, irradiance, wavelengths, power, optics, warranty, FDA registration, electrical conversion requirement | Clearlight CORE Tower product page and specification block | Verified Aug 5, 2026 | Manufacturer specification |
| CORE Tower dosing guidance by distance | Clearlight regional red light therapy tower product pages | Verified Aug 5, 2026 | Manufacturer specification |
| Sanctuary Outdoor 2 electrical, construction, cedar interior, warranty split | Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor 2 product documentation | Verified Aug 5, 2026 | Manufacturer specification |
| Clearlight temperature guidance and setpoint behaviour | Clearlight buyer's guide, FAQ, and Sanctuary Outdoor owner's manual | Verified Aug 5, 2026 | Manufacturer guidance |
| Sanctuary pricing now quote-based | Clearlight Sanctuary product pages | Verified Aug 5, 2026 | Manufacturer storefront |
| Equinox 2, Eclipse 2, Pod, Luminar 2 specifications, wavelengths, panel ratings, electrical, prices | Sun Home Saunas product pages | Verified Aug 5, 2026 | Manufacturer specification. Publisher of this article |
| Sun Home warranty components, 90-day labor and freight, parts lead times, California parts availability | Sun Home Saunas warranty page, terms for orders on or after March 2, 2026 | Verified Aug 5, 2026 | Manufacturer published terms. Publisher of this article |
| Sun Home EMF distance ranges, cabin-air VOC scope, adhesive testing | Vitatech Electromagnetics VTE-3534; VERT Environmental Project #66958 with AIHA-accredited LA Testing, EPA TO-15; Applied Technical Services #486424 | Jan 2025; Apr 2026; Jun 2026 | Named independent labs, commissioned by Sun Home |
| Equinox 2 hands-on review, 165°F maximum setting, ~10 minute preheat | Garage Gym Reviews best infrared saunas roundup | 2026 | Independent editorial, hands-on, affiliate-disclosed; no sensor protocol published |
| Luminar 5 review unit reaching ~160°F; five-person capacity assessment | Garage Gym Reviews Sun Home Saunas review | 2026 | Independent editorial, hands-on. Applies to the five-person model only |
| BeautyBox wavelengths, temperature, preheat, electrical, dimensions, warranty, price, EMF statements | LIT Method BeautyBox product page and specification panel | Verified Aug 5, 2026 | Manufacturer specification; no commercial relationship with the publisher |
| Dynamic Barcelona heaters, temperature band, electrical, dimensions, red light feature, MSRP, warranty tiers | Golden Designs Inc product page DYN-6106-01 and factory warranty page | Verified Aug 5, 2026 | Manufacturer specification; no commercial relationship with the publisher |
Negative-search log
For each scored model, the following were searched for irradiance, beam angle, treatment area, dosing guidance, sustained temperature, and independent exact-model measurement: the exact product page, the downloadable spec sheet or schematic where offered, the installation or owner's manual where offered, the governing warranty document, and the brand's safety or testing page where one exists. An independent search for third-party laboratory or editorial measurement of each exact model was also run. All returned no result except where scored above. Those fields are therefore scored 0, not NR.
Revision log
| Previous claim | Correction |
|---|---|
| Sun Home wins the warranty profile with nationwide in-home technician service; Clearlight includes no labor | Clearlight wins the warranty profile. It publishes 7 years of indoor residential labor; Sun Home publishes 90 days of no-cost labor and freight, with no blanket dispatch entitlement |
| Luminar 2 independently verified at 165–170°F by Garage Gym Reviews | 170°F is a manufacturer figure. The GGR outdoor result is ~160°F on a five-person Luminar review unit and does not transfer to the Luminar 2 |
| Clearlight red light is optically undocumented; Eclipse wins red light outright | The CORE Tower publishes irradiance, wavelengths, optics, and dose guidance and wins the optical-documentation profile at 59/100 versus Eclipse at 27/100. Eclipse wins integration |
| Eclipse uses 660/850 nm and 1,800W combined output | The product-page specification publishes 650/850 nm and two panels with a 900W rating each, whose basis is not stated. Sun Home's collection pages state the same system two other ways; the conflict is disclosed |
| Pod includes 660/850 nm red light | The Pod product page publishes no wavelength, LED count, wattage, irradiance, or treatment area |
| Every Sun Home model has 0.5 mG and 27 µg/m³ results | EMF is representative across configurations with 0.5 mG inside the three-foot range; the VOC result is one tested unit whose model is not publicly identified |
| Equinox is $1,100–$1,900 less than Sanctuary 2 | Removed. Sanctuary pricing is quote-based, so no dollar-saving claim is reproducible. Reframed as a price-transparency advantage |
| Clearlight cabin is limited to 115–125°F | Reframed by evidence class: typical range, recommended range, controller setpoint, and absent independent measurement are four different fields |
| Every buyer profile resolves to a Sun Home model | Comparison set widened to include LIT Method and Golden Designs. Of the profiles scored, Sun Home wins two, Clearlight wins three, and one has no winner |
| Narrative winners with no published methodology | Profile-specific weighted scorecards with published thresholds, applied per-model scores, an inclusion rule, and a negative-search log |
What we could not verify
- Any configured cost for a Clearlight Sanctuary, because pricing runs through a quote request.
- An independent exact-model thermal measurement for the Sanctuary 2, Eclipse 2, Luminar 2, BeautyBox, or Barcelona.
- Sustained-temperature or hold-tolerance data for any model in this comparison.
- Independent third-party optical verification of any red light system here.
- Whether the Eclipse's 900W per-panel rating represents LED-chip capacity, electrical input, driver capacity, or emitted optical power.
- Whether Clearlight's seven-year labor coverage results in in-home dispatch, and Clearlight's freight responsibility on covered claims.
- The governing labor and freight terms for the Sun Home Equinox and Solstice, which is why those models are NR on the warranty profile.
- Current Solstice 1 pricing, which appears as both $4,899 and $4,999 across Sun Home pages.
These gaps are reported as gaps, for every brand including our own.