Sun Home manufactures the Sun Home saunas named in this guide. Specifications and prices were checked against the sources named in the Methodology and Sources section on September 22 and 23, 2026; "not found" means the figure was not found in those sources on those dates, not that it does not exist. Figures are labeled manufacturer specification, calculated from stated inputs, or illustrative assumption where the difference matters.
Short Answer
Compare HUUM DROP 6 and Harvia Virta HL60E as complete, market-specific systems. The useful differences are mounting, stone capacity, service access, compatible controls, documented room range and total package cost. Warranty and temperature claims depend on the exact heater and controller, so check the U.S. documentation before assigning either package an advantage.
Key Takeaways
- Both are 6 kW, 240V single-phase heaters that need a separate controller: HUUM's UKU (Local or Wi-Fi) for the DROP, Harvia's Xenio (with an optional Wi-Fi module) for the Virta. Neither runs without one.
- The DROP is wall-mounted (24 lb before stones) with a rated loaded capacity of 55 kg (122 lb); the Virta is floor-standing (50.7 lb) with a 110 lb stone amount on Harvia's U.S. page (dealers quote a 100 lb minimum) and a removable element module. Stone mass is a measurable design difference, not proof of better steam or lower running cost.
- Warranties are not like for like: Sun Home's page lists HUUM's U.S. terms as 3 years on the steel body and controls for residential use with elements treated as consumables; Harvia's terms give 2 years for family use with an additional year for eligible registered electric heaters. Read both for elements, labor, freight and commercial use.
- Room ranges overlap at 177 to 294 cu ft when both makers' figures are applied (Harvia's U.S. page lists 177 to 294 for the HL60E, dealers 177 to 297 adjusted); the DROP's published upper figure comes from HUUM's European page and needs U.S. confirmation.
- Compare Wi-Fi package to Wi-Fi package, with stones and any required safety components included, before naming a cheaper option.
The Exact Packages Compared
| Item | HUUM DROP 6 | Harvia Virta HL60E | Source and market |
|---|---|---|---|
| Output and supply | 6 kW, 240V single-phase | 6 kW, 240V, three 2,000 W elements | HUUM product page (EU); Harvia HL60E datasheet (U.S. dealer copy) |
| Mounting and size | Wall-mounted; 15.4 x 13.2 x 23.3 in; 24 lb | Floor-standing; Harvia's U.S. page lists 16 in wide, 16 in deep, 33 in high and 50.7 lb net; dealers list 16 x 13 x 33 in; the U.S. manual governs | Same |
| Rated or recommended stone amount | 55 kg (122 lb) rated loaded capacity | 110 lb stone amount, stones 5 to 10 cm (Ø5 to 10 cm) | HUUM page; Harvia U.S. page, September 23, 2026 |
| Minimum stone load | Not found on the pages checked; the U.S. manual governs | 100 lb minimum per the dealer datasheet | Dealer datasheet; the U.S. manual governs |
| Stones sold with U.S. packages | Four 33 lb boxes (132 lb) in the Home and Heat package; the surplus over the rated capacity is normal | Three boxes (about 100 lb per the dealer); confirm the quantity in the listing against Harvia's 110 lb amount | U.S. dealer listings, September 22, 2026 |
| Controller required | UKU Local or UKU Wi-Fi (app with remote start, weekly schedule, 1 to 12 hour timer per HUUM) | Xenio CX30 (with an optional Wi-Fi module for the MyHarvia app) | HUUM page; Harvia datasheet and dealer listings |
| Documented room range | 177 to 353 cu ft (HUUM European page; confirm in the U.S. manual) | 177 to 294 cu ft on Harvia's U.S. product page (item HL6U1UL); 177 to 297 adjusted cu ft on the dealer datasheet | As stated |
| Settable temperature | Up to 230°F on the controller per HUUM; the U.S. manual sets the permitted maximum, and a setpoint is not a measured bench temperature | Per the Xenio manual | HUUM page; Harvia documentation |
| Service access | Sealed steel body; elements are consumables under HUUM's U.S. terms | Removable element module for element replacement | Sun Home warranty page (HUUM terms); Harvia datasheet |
| Listings | Dealer listings cite SGS testing to UL 60335-1, CSA and IEC 60335-2-53; confirm the listing mark on the U.S. unit | ETL certificate and IPX4 rating listed on Harvia's U.S. product page | HUUM: U.S. dealer listings, not verified on a physical unit; Harvia: harvia.com U.S. page, September 23, 2026 |
| Made in | Estonia | Finland | Manufacturer pages |
Complete Package Cost (Dated Dealer Offers)
| Package | Includes | Observed price | List price | Dealer and date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HUUM DROP 6 with UKU Wi-Fi and stones | Heater, UKU Wi-Fi controller, four 33 lb stone boxes | $2,525 to $2,850 | $2,971 to $3,353 | Home and Heat, September 22, 2026 |
| Harvia Virta HL60E package | Heater, Xenio CX30 with the dealer's named Wi-Fi control package, stones (confirm the Wi-Fi module is included at the quoted price and the stone quantity) | $2,403 to $2,847 | Not stated | The Sauna Heater, September 22, 2026 |
| Harvia Virta HL60E package (second dealer) | Heater, controller, stones | $3,176 | $3,699 | Topture, September 22, 2026 |
| Harvia heater only (for reference, not a system comparison) | Heater alone; controller and stones extra | $1,584 to $1,760 | $2,190 | U.S. dealers, September 22, 2026 |
Tax, freight and installation are excluded from every line. A bare-heater price is not a system price; add the controller, the stones and any remote-start safety components the controller requires before comparing.
Warranty, Like for Like
| Term | HUUM DROP (U.S., as listed on Sun Home's warranty page) | Harvia (published terms) |
|---|---|---|
| Base residential term | 3 years on the steel heater body and controls | 2 years on heaters and controls for family use |
| Registration extension | Not stated | Additional year for eligible registered electric heaters; check eligibility and the registration deadline on Harvia's U.S. registration page |
| Heating elements | Treated as consumables, not covered | Excluded from the commercial term; check the residential wording |
| Commercial use | 1 year on body and controls | 2 years excluding elements |
| Labor and freight | Not stated on the page checked | Not stated in the terms checked |
| Market note | HUUM's European page states a longer term; the U.S. contract is the one above | Confirm the U.S. terms apply to the unit and dealer you buy from |
Installation and Controls: What to Hand the Electrician
- The exact U.S. manual for the heater and for the controller package you bought. Conductor size and breaker rating come from those documents and the electrician's code check, not from a storefront description.
- Whether remote start is intended. Both makers attach conditions to starting a heater from a phone; confirm the door sensor or other safeguard the controller requires and the maximum heating duration the controller enforces before relying on the feature.
- Stone loading per the manual. Overfilling a wall heater or underfilling a floor heater changes its behavior and can affect coverage.
- Clearances from the U.S. documentation. Harvia's U.S. page lists 2 in to combustible materials at the front, back and sides of the HL60E and 3.5 ft to the ceiling; HUUM's clearances come from the DROP's U.S. manual.
Room Compatibility
Both heaters cover a room in the 177 to 294 cu ft band on the makers' figures; Harvia's U.S. product page lists 177 to 294 cu ft for the HL60E and its dealers 177 to 297 adjusted, and the U.S. manual governs. The DROP's published range reaches higher on HUUM's European page, but that figure needs the U.S. manual behind it before you rely on it. Unheated masses (glass, stone, uninsulated walls) raise the adjusted volume; Sun Home's traditional sauna buying guide explains the adjustment.
Who Benefits From Each Design Difference
| If you want | Lean toward | Documented reason |
|---|---|---|
| Floor space free under the heater and a lighter unit to mount | DROP | Wall-mounted, 24 lb before stones |
| More stone mass in the heater | DROP | 122 lb rated capacity versus Harvia's 110 lb stone amount |
| Element replacement without removing the heater body | Virta | Removable element module |
| A floor-standing unit with no wall reinforcement | Virta | Floor-standing design |
| Wi-Fi scheduling included in the base package | Depends on the package bought | UKU Wi-Fi in the DROP package cited; Harvia Wi-Fi is a module on the Xenio |
| The longer base residential term on body and controls | DROP on the U.S. terms shown, subject to element exclusions | 3 years versus 2 plus a registration year |
Sun Home fits the HUUM DROP in its Nova and Solaris 4 cabins (the Solaris 6 uses the HUUM Hive Mini 9) and sells HUUM heaters; this comparison covers two 6 kW models, not either maker's whole range.
Bottom Line
Choose between these two packages on mounting, stone mass, element service, the controller you want and the complete package price from a U.S. dealer, and read both U.S. warranties for elements, labor and commercial use. Neither model proves anything about the other products either company makes.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do both heaters need a controller?
Yes. The DROP requires a HUUM UKU (Local or Wi-Fi); the Virta HL60E requires a Harvia Xenio.
What does Harvia's registration change?
Harvia's terms add a year for eligible registered electric heaters. Check the eligibility conditions and the registration deadline for the U.S. unit you buy.
Are stones included?
In the packages cited, yes: 132 lb of purchased stones with the DROP package (against a 122 lb rated capacity) and about 100 lb with the Virta package (against Harvia's 110 lb stone amount and the dealer's 100 lb minimum). Confirm the quantity in the listing you buy from.
Does a higher setpoint mean a hotter bench?
No. The setpoint is a controller limit; bench temperature depends on the room, stones, ventilation and sensor placement, and the U.S. manual sets the permitted maximum.
Methodology and Sources
Specifications were read on HUUM's product page, Harvia's U.S. HL60E product page, the dealer-hosted HL60E datasheet and Harvia's warranty terms, Sun Home's warranty page and U.S. dealer listings on September 22 and 23, 2026, with the market of each figure stated. Prices are dated dealer offers excluding tax, freight and installation. Listings are as stated by dealers and were not verified on a physical unit. No whole-brand conclusion is drawn. Sun Home sells HUUM heaters and uses the DROP in its Nova and Solaris 4 traditional cabins.
- HUUM DROP product page (European market)
- Harvia U.S. product page: Virta HL60E (HL6U1UL)
- Harvia Virta HL60E datasheet (dealer-hosted)
- Harvia warranty terms and conditions
- Sun Home warranty information (HUUM U.S. terms)
- Haven of Heat: HUUM heaters review